Writers logo

Gratitude

Writing Prompts for Today

By Denise E LindquistPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
7
Gratitude
Photo by Jessica Shaevitz on Unsplash

Describe the last time you walked barefoot in the grass. Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

For many years, I'd even say since a todler first walking, I walked barefoot in the grass all of the time. I loved that and my feet were tough and didn't really need shoes, unless I was walking on glass which I never purposely have done.

What happened to that is something called plantar fascitis. The first thing I was told is that runners get it. Well, I have never been a runner, nor will I ever be a runner. When younger I didn't have the body for running. I was chest heavy. Now that is not it. And I still don't have the body for it.

The doctor suggested I buy vionics or Hoka's. Then I was told to wear croc's in the house. All of the time. I ended up needing orthotics. That did it. Solved the problem. For the most part. I still can't go barefoot or I relapse into plantar fascitis almost instantly.

Please do walk barefoot in the grass as there are definite benefits to doing that. I will be okay to sit in the grass with my feet in the grass much like the photo above, only not that cute, but that is probably it for the rest of my time. Kind of sad, I think!

What is the most precious gift you have received? Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

My children for sure are at the top of my list! A girl and then a boy! Then the stepchildren came. My oldest was 12 when he came into my life. I consider him my oldest son as he is 2 years older than his sister. He was an only child and when we married, we thought 3 was enough.

Now, I have 4 more stepchildren and only one was 14, the others were adults. Having an adult relationship with a couple of my husbands children can be a struggle from time to time. Not so much on my part as on theirs. The other two, not so much!

This may not be what the prompt was looking for but that tops my list of the most precious gift I have ever received! Most of my precious gifts are people in my life and experiences with people.

What comes to mind next is recovery! What a precious gift that has been. It has meant life. Not dying an ugly death. Being able to watch my children, grandchildren and great grandchildren be born, and live life. That is truly a precious gift!

How did it feel when you last stepped out of your comfort zone? Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

At this moment the thing I think of is public speaking. At one time, I couldn't talk to more than one person at a time and still I would blush or stutter. That changed sometime in my 30s, but everytime I share information about myself that pushes me out of my comfort zone.

Sharing when the last time I stepped out of my comfort zone, is right now. Writing about me. I always wish I was better at writing fiction and poetry. I write rhyme and don't expect to ever be a poet. I am slowly working on being a lyricist.

And I mean slowly. I love metaphors, however, who knew that would be involved in learning song writing? Oh well, out of my comfort zone again. I have lived long enough to know I want to be a lifelong learner and that often means stepping out of my comfort zone to live that way.

Writing ExercisePromptsLife
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran13 days ago

    The most precious gift I've received is definitely food hehehehe. Public speaking scare the hell out of me!

  • Mark Graham14 days ago

    Very good work. This is good counseling fodder for other kinds of groups.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.