Writers logo

Fallacies Cause Faulty Reasoning and Unsound Arguments that Influence Writing

How to change a thought process that interferes with your writing

By Brenda MahlerPublished 20 days ago 4 min read
Like
YouTube. (2020). False Dilemma. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dln3DJEcghY [Accessed 24, March 2024].

Writing is not an either or decision

A false dilemma occurs when a person backs themself in a corner by thinking there are only two choices.

If you have ever thought, “I have nothing to write about. No unique ideas exist,” you have created an impossible situation. Unless a lightning bolt strikes you depositing an ideal story line into your brain, your fingers will forever be frozen over the keyboard. Beware, if you sit and wait for inspiration, you may be stalled for a long time.

“I don’t sit around waiting for passion to strike me. I keep working steadily, because I believe it is our privilege as humans to keep making things. Most of all, I keep working because I trust that creativity is always trying to find me, even when I have lost sight of it.” ― Elizabeth Gilbert

Approach each day looking for opportunities to write. Not all topics will produce Nobel Prize-winning pieces, but nothing comes from not writing. An author must see the world through the eyes of a writer. Observe events while asking the question, “How could I share this in a story.” You will be amazed when taking this approach on how often simple, everyday occurrences provide motivation to write.

For instance, while riding my Harley, I saw a dead carcass on the side of the road; from that emerged a poem titled, Carcass. When my Yorkshire Terrier chased a skunk out of our yard I wrote, A 5-Pound Dog Protected Me in the Dark of Night. After my daughter shared a conversation she overheard on the school bus about penises, I sat down and produced Cool Grandmas Remain Calm — No Matter What.

Remember, if you believe you have writer’s block because the perfect ideas haven’t sprung into your head, you are limiting your choices. Your choices as a writer are not limited to writing a masterpiece or not writing.

Don’t create a scapegoat for your writing

YouTube. (2020). Batman Hasty Generalization. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KqeqTWD2Ymg [Accessed 24, March 2024].

We all desire a scapegoat for our inability to write; thus, writer’s block. But proceed with caution because once you make a hasty generalization, you yield to the power of negative thinking and have prompted your own writer’s block.

Have thoughts like these thoughts ever convinced yourself to stop writing?

  • Nobody claps for my writing.
  • My writing is not interesting.
  • I am not a good writer.
  • I have nothing to say.

You have fallen into a pattern of thinking that inhibits writing. This is a behavior within your control. Too often negative thinking is labeled writer’s block when, in fact, it can be controlled. If you are prone to make hasty generalizations, turn it around to positive thinking.

  • If I write enough, eventually I will find success.
  • I must find an appropriate audience for my writing.
  • My message is important. I simply need to explore new ways to say it.

People need encouragement to reach goals and the most influential supporter of your dreams is yourself. Stop the negative self-talk. It is easy to talk yourself out of writing because to be honest, writing is difficult.

Nike made millions of dollars from the slogan, “Just Do It.” This may sound too simple and maybe it is. If you continue to do the same thing, you will get the same results. Attempt new strategies. So, couple the “Just Do It” slogan with proven strategies.

Are You Sliding Down a Slippery Slope to Writer’s Block?

“I can’t think of anything to write about. My ideas are limited. When I do have an idea, everybody tells me it is boring. All my ideas are boring. My writing is boring. I will never be a writer.” Brenda Mahler, author

The slippery slope fallacy begins with one simple belief that leads to a chain of thoughts ending in an extreme conclusion. The above quote shares a natural thought process of a writer unable to produce words on paper. The downward plunge begins by stating a fact at a moment in time. Then the writer builds upon that with more ideas that grow irrational over time. Before long the writer’s potential becomes limited. They have talked themselves out of writing.

This train of thought truly is a slippery slope. Easily and quickly a writer can convince himself that he does not have what it takes to find success. Not true! Of course, not everyone will gain the notoriety of Stephen King or J. K. Rowling but everyone can leave their own mark.

Remember, staring at a blank page may be intimidating, but doesn’t actually block actions. Get out of the chair, move away from the computer and experience life. Then after a brief intermission, return and get the job done.

“ . . . who’s heard of writer’s block? I really don’t think it exists. Actually, no, sorry, I’m going to take that back: it does not exist. We’ll state it flatly. Sometimes, writing is super hard. Just like any other job. Or, if it’s not your job, sometimes it’s hard to do a thing even if it is your hobby. But no plumber ever gets to call in to work, and they’re like “Jake, I have plumber’s block,” you know? What would your boss say?! I have teacher’s block. I have accounting block. They would say “You are fired! You have problems and you are fired. Get your ass in here and plumb some stuff, Jerry!” — Patrick Rothfuss, in an interview with SYFY WIRE

Some writers go for a drive, read, drink a glass of wine or simply take a break. This allows them to process ideas and when they return to writing, the juices flow. I call this stage of my writing process incubation. However, if you find yourself driving cross-country, rereading the Odyssey, on your third bottle of wine, or living in permanent vacation mode, procrastination has set in.

Examine your line of thinking. If the initial thought leads to an extreme conclusion, you are headed down a slippery slope and need to apply the brakes.

AdviceWriter's Block
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.