Writers logo

Dreams of my father

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
1
Dreams of my father
Photo by Alfonso Scarpa on Unsplash

My mother is Nichelle. Nichelle was a hard working woman who loved her work and family very much. My mother would work all day and all night in her little garden pulling weeds and planting flowers. She would always dedicate herself to the garden and community garden so I know hard work ever since I was young. I know what real labor as my mother put everything into her love of gardens. I believe my grandmother was the same. She would worked hard in the field until she got what she wanted done. She used to say that "That's how people were back then. That's how people act with dignity and due diligence." And my grandmother was a godly woman who taught my mother everything she known. She was the main cornerstone in the family. Anyways back to my mother, my mother was the center of my daily life. I only remember her raising me and taking care of me. And my mother did the best she can. But as a young man, Mikey is the name. I just was a little troublesome. Seeing other boys playing with their father, seeing other boys laughing with their father. I would just stand still and daydream what life would of been like if my father raised me. What life would of been like if he would of got back with my mother. They say children dream all the time. They have good dreams. And they have bad dreams. And my dreams as I aged became more complicated. It happened that I got in a fight one day. A boy at school with his friends were laughing at me in math class, he flicked my ear about ten times. And I know the teacher saw him and so I got angry. I jack him up against the file cabinet in the class. I yank him three times yelling and frustrated. And the teacher had to stop the fight. We both went to the vice principal office. And the boy went first and said his side uncaringly. Then I went in crying because I knew mother would be disappointed and I was gonna be in troubled. I tried to explain my side. And I was held till my mother came. My mother looked at me harshly and she compelled to the vice principal. And I knew I was gonna get in trouble. Nichelle said "Boy what's got into you. You're getting into fights. Acting up at school. Daydreaming." I acted as if I was listening because I did not want to get a whipping. "Mikey do you hear me talking to you? I am trying to understand you son. I am doing my best to raise you. Are you showing out because of your father not being apart of your life," said Nichelle while driving home. "Your father was a good man but too controlling and too career-focus. We did marry briefly. And you do look like him," Nichelle said trying to ease her son. "Yeah ever once and while I wish he would come back. I wish he would be the man I fell in love with." "Mom yeah I dream of my father. I dream of my dad. Other boys have father," Mikey confessing to his mother. "Well I understand but as Mama would say ain't no need of fussing over something you can't really change. I guess you old enough to hear about JJ. That was his name JJ. He was a hard man. He loved music. We used to do things together. And your father did held you in his big arms. I knew he did at one time love me. And he definitely loved you. And if he was here he would proud of you," Nichelle holding back the tears in her eyes. "Don't cry Mama. I'll tell you like I told my principal. That boy kept bothering me. The teacher saw it. And I overreacted. Sorry Mama. sorry for disappointing you. It will never happened again," confessing Mikey. Nichelle stopping at the home, "Mikey I'm gonna let this one go. Because I know the real reason. A mother knows. Son a mother is just as good as a father. A mother can love just as hard as a father. A mother can fight just as much as a father. Let this be a lesson. A mother is just as good as a father. I love you. I gave up everything for you. Do you understand me?" Mikey quietly responding and Nichelle said "You can dream. Dream of your father but be better. Be the man your mother always knew."

Life
1

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.