Writers logo

Dr. Matthew Primous titled 'Distinguished & Honorable'

A Speech from Dr. Matthew Primous

By Matthew PrimousPublished 15 days ago 4 min read
1

"I did not achieve this because I was more important or more special than anyone else. My parents taught me that to do my best is the greatest thing I could do. That doing the best I can can change the world. I was not treated any better than anyone else. I simply focus on what I needed to know and what I would like to know. I spent many days working hard on my studies and trying to be better than I was before. I love reading I enjoyed reading because there would be always something else that I miss each time I read something even if it was the same article. In college I read a 100 pages per course each week several times to study. I would strive to do better than a B and have. I would always seek more than A and I have. It was a delight to see on the faces of my peers, teachers, and family the interest that my academics would do for them. It was rewarding not only earning because I made high grades but also being seen as well accomplished. I did not receive my lifetime achievement until I finished college. I did not master what I thought I could master until college came along. College was the key to knowledge and knowledge led to success and success to stability. I always saw college as a right and college a responsibility. It was my responsibility to do my best. My responsibility to fight hard and I took that at an early age and was taught that by my first grade teacher, my favorite teacher. Not only in college but in business, I earned the title "Distinguished and Honorable" without any merit or privilege. My peers at the National Male Executives Alliance and Strathmore Worldwide Who's Who acknowledge me as a leader in business. They saw my expertise and my knowledge as key to bettering my ambitions and changing the world. I never thought that I would achieve these titles. That someone from poverty could earn titles such as this and be called something other than what they were. It intrigued me to this day. That I was able to conquer fear, conquer rejection, conquer intimidation and conquer humiliation. And rise to the top and show my expertise though I was not always liked and I was not always admired or respected. That a miracle happened I was given the titles and responsibilities to move forward to conquer to dream and succeed. I do not take this lightly. And further as the 2nd most successful Entrepreneur of the National Leadership Honor Society's history. I have to say because I am a Christian that God is good. And I am thankful for my parents, my grandparents who urged me to excel, those leaders who fought for equality, the people who kept believing. I say believe on, rise higher, do more, accomplished greater, and be thankful and better because of it."- Dr. Matthew Primous awarded 21 medals including 7 NYS Regional International Honor Society's Medallions, the International Honor Society's Alumni Officer Medallion, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Societies' Foundation Lapen Pin, and Omicron Delta Kappa Honor Societies' Foundation Lapen Pin and given unanimously the Phi Theta Kappa Intellectual Honor Cord, Omicron Delta Kappa Superior Exemplary Honor Tri-Cords, Delta Epsilon Iota Strong Leadership Qualities Cord, MCC Distinguished Graduate Certificate, the National Social Work Honor Society's Cum Laude Honor Tassel, ODK Honorary Stole, and PTK Honorary Stole. He got the medals for his seven years in college, earning an Associate and a Bachelor and accepted into Masters but was dismissed. He represented minorities as a Collegiate Science, Technology Engineering Program Scholar. He's a Lifetime Member of four honor societies including academic, social work, leadership, and international. He made history being published in the 95th Edition of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society's Book in 2013, again in 2016 published by Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society's Historic Directory, published consecutively in Strathmore Worldwide Who's Who International Business Leaders Directory for 2017 & 2018 and published in 2020 by SUNY Brockport's World History Book. He received in 2024 two World Class Medals from the National Leadership Honor Society for Honor Graduate and Cum Laude.

Challenge
1

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.