Writers logo

Do You Have a Glimmer Journal?

I think you should make one

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
8
Do You Have a Glimmer Journal?
Photo by Sander Weeteling on Unsplash

When I was at community college, a guest speaker came. I don’t recall her name, and barely her face, though I think she had blonde hair…She spoke about her life living on a ranch, how she had dropped her urban upbringing and went to live on a ranch in Montana, learning the hard work of keeping horses and cows and everything else. That’s why she came, you see—to talk about the book she wrote.

A nonfiction book, rather, nothing made-up. And the part I remember most vividly was this woman answering a question from the audience, at the end of her talk. I don’t know the question precisely. It must have related to how she remembered so much of her past, in so much detail, that she could write about it.

Oh.

Right now, reading that back, I wonder the same damn thing. How do you start to analyze your own life, and fit it into a narrative, even a loose one? I’ve done it in bits before. Never to the length of a memoir. It must drain and wear on the soul, even if the memories are good.

The woman’s answer inspired an ongoing trove of my ideas: a glimmer journal.

See, the woman didn’t like "inspiration book" or "list of ideas" or "brainstorming." They didn’t inspire creative flow; in fact, she felt they impeded it by implying that they all had to turn into something great; or on the flip side, they just looked like lame and undeveloped thoughts, ultimately useless.

Glimmer, though. Glimmer says something else.

It says, I saw something beautiful today. I made a connection that gave me chills. A poetic verse crossed my mind in my anger. Hey, that’s funny!

It says, I can sit in your journal for years, forgotten, until one day you scroll past me, stop, and realize I’m what you need to expand upon.

This is the glimmer journal. If I showed you mine, you’d probably laugh. There are so many things, so many random things, disjoined, one thought completely divergent from the last, sometimes just two words, other times, ten lines. It’s in my Notes app on my phone & computer, and I add to it every day. Even ideas that I’ve taken from it, I leave there, because I sometimes feel that I’ve not exhausted it and should really try to.

              

***

Let me share with you the bottom five items in my glimmer journal:

5.    A link to a "How Stuff Works" article on lightning.

4.    “Not living in the present, getting things done off-page.”

3.    A screenshot from a random comment section that reads: “I think what happened, happened. It’s in the past and we know what happened was wrong. But there’s nothing we can do to change the past or the way these innocent people were treated. It’s not fair to just say forget about it, but at least drop the grudges and let it lie. It was a bad part of history but we all have to deal with it. I liked this page. It has helped me grip a sense of what went on so I could write my paper a little better. Thank you Steven Butler in Tokyo!” It was posted on my exact birthday.

2.    “More related to siblings than offspring. Honeybees, ants. Hive-mind motivation for life/dharma.”

1.    “The night is screaming. Night is the time for screaming. Forests, rainforests.”

It’s been at least 4 years since I wrote these ones. I haven’t written anything out of them, but I have been working on a story that involves lightning. That might be a coincidence. Or a weird subconscious memory thing.

I add to the top. Just a few things, every day or so. My job gives me a lot of time to think, and often I’ll tell myself to remember what I think, and in the next minute it’s gone. This journal should be there to help me. And it is. It’s not always possible to jot an idea down, though. But my journal is there, even still.

Remember the woman? Well, she said something I really appreciate. That even if your idea seems terrible right now, it has its time. She said there were glimmers she’d written decades ago that she added to her book, ideas that she wanted to erase because they’d either sat for too long or had lost their luster over time. After hearing that, I couldn't help but think of all the ideas I’d deleted or failed to write down that could have turned into something great. I’ve learned not to discount ideas, no matter how they seem in the moment.

Now, I have a question for you. Do you have a glimmer journal?

ProcessInspirationAdvice
8

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    This was interesting Mackenzie! I don't a have a glimmer journal per se but I do have a file on my computer of bits of dreams I've had that inspired me to write. I also have a notes app full of the multiple stories that I work on at one time because I like to jump around as the mood hits me. But I love your take on how you find inspiration, it's fun and enticing!

  • Mesh Toraskar10 months ago

    I have one of these in my Notes app too! I have two versions, first one has a pretentious title which I came up with a couple years ago, still young in my writing journey - 'A curated amalgamation of alchemical language' (I know I know 😅). The second one is titled - 'Women in my life', even though the title relates to only 1% of its content, but I never felt the need to change it. I deeply resonate with the ideas not having the right time and never to discount any of them. Its a life-changing realisation, one I came to very late but hold on to with my dear life now. Also, this line - The night is screaming. Night is the time for screaming. Forests, rainforests. STUNNING. Some from mine, even though no one asked, haha - 1) No one does gloomy like Scotland. 2) Kafka once said, follow your most intense obsessions mercilessly. 3) Blurry pictures make for better mementos because they are more of an active object of memory, rather than a passive one. They invite you to fill in the gaps with out own fancies and musings, almost like rewriting history??

  • I love this idea. A glimmer journal could be a place to write only good things, inspiring things...you know, save the hard stuff for other sites and make this a place for relief. Coincidentally, I happened upon a thick, unused journal in my bookcase just this morning. Now I know why.

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    Altogether, I have quite a number of small stashes with stuff: links to articles saved in Pocket, bookmarked, pinned in a browser; a folder with comic strips in Telegram (most of them wry as hell); in my Notes app there are silly rhymes and poems; and then I have multiple notebooks that normally are chaotic. The content of the one that is resting on my table right now varies from math and physical chemistry stuff to a few poems, a list of contemporary classical music pieces I enjoyed, a concept for a poem that I guess I will never write, a sketch of a camel... But I must admit I almost never write down my small thoughts and observations. They just keep accumulating in my head, some get stuck in there and there's no way out, others are quite volatile I guess. But then, if I forget some of them - doesn't it mean that they were not significant?

  • Lol, looks like I have a glimmer journal without knowing it's calles that! It's really useful because I'm very forgetful. I'm so glad you wrote about this!

  • Nope. But I do have piles of scraps of paper I keep in a box for occasional perusal. Great article, Mackenzie.

  • Hannah Moore11 months ago

    I do not! Perhaps I should. My stories come while I walk, maybe voice notes is the way for me.

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    I love this! I guess I do have a glimmer journal, but I just didn't have a name for it! I don't write in it as often as I should as I prefer typing, but this story inspires me to write it in more. Great article :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.