Writers logo

Decoding the Dialogue poem

The many aspects of the placement of words, with some poetic examples for your perusal.

By Novel AllenPublished 16 days ago 4 min read
Decoding the Dialogue poem
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I once though that writing poetry was just interplaying lovely words to form beautiful poems. But now, the sheer volume of the different types of creative ways to compose enchanting prose is mind boggling. As soom as you get one down pat, another one pops up.

There have been Haikus, Free verse, Sonnets, Villanelles, Odes, Acrostics, Cinquains, I mean I could go on and on.

So here we have the Dialogue poem, or the Conversation poem, are they both the same thing, I wonder. See explanation for conversation poem below.

I must confess that it is kind of challenging, as it is itself asking us to write a challenge.

The information and examples which I found may have helped a little bit, but I am still not sure that I get the gist of the thing.

What I have learned so far:

A dialogue poem is a conversation between two or more entities to discuss a controversial or multifaceted topic using poetic elements and techniques. The poem should reflect the spirit of poetry, being pleasant to the reader’s ear, rhythmic and thought-provoking. Dialogue poems lend themselves well to any theme, but controversial themes work especially well.

“A Dialogue of Self and Soul” by William Butler Yeats:

I am content when wakened birds,

Before they fly, test the reality

Of misty fields, by their sweet questionings;

But when the birds are gone, and their warm fields

Return no more, where, then, is paradise?

There is not any haunt of prophecy,

Nor any old chimera of the grave,

Neither the golden underground, nor isle

Melodious, where spirits gat them home,

Nor visionary south, nor cloudy palm

Remote on heaven’s hill, that has endured

As April’s green endures; or will endure

Like her remember’d kisses after death.

The explanation:

This poem beautifully explores the interplay between the self and the soul, questioning the nature of paradise and the eternal. The imagery of birds, misty fields, and remembered kisses evokes a sense of longing and mystery. Yeats masterfully captures the essence of introspection and existential contemplation. 🌟

Mark Strand’s poem “The Story of Our Lives”:

We are reading the story of our lives

which takes place in a room. The room looks out on a street.

There is no one there, no sound of anything. The trees

are heavy with leaves, the parked cars never move.

This passage reflects the contemplative and somewhat somber tone of the poem, as it explores the themes of existence and the passage of time. The imagery of a quiet room and a silent street evokes a sense of stillness and introspection, which is characteristic of Strand’s poetry.

Ok. I still need help!

“Just Keep Quiet and Nobody Will Notice” by Ogden Nash:

There is one thing that ought to be taught in all the colleges,

Which is that people ought to be taught not to go around always making apologies.

I don’t mean the kind of apologies people make when they run over you or borrow five dollars or step on your feet,

Because I think that is sort of sweet;

No, I object to one kind of apology alone,

Which is when people spend their time and yours apologizing for everything they own.

The explanation

The poem humorously criticizes excessive apologies. Nash suggests that constantly apologizing shifts the burden of satisfaction onto others. He playfully exaggerates the ubiquity of apologizers, highlighting the absurdity of their behavior. The message remains relevant today, as excessive apologies can stifle conversations and undermine self-confidence. 📜🖋️

Remember Poe's Narrative poem

“The Raven”

Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered, weak and weary,

Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore—

While I nodded, nearly napping…suddenly came a tapping

As of someone gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door

Tis some visitor, I muttered, tapping at my chamber door

Only this and nothing more

Ah, distinctly, I remember, it was in the bleak December

And each separate dying ember

Wrought its ghost upon the floor

There is a lot more...but you get the gist...Right?

Ah, I love Poe so. Maybe I can learn a thing or two from The Raven.

The Conversation poems

The conversation poems are a group of at least eight poems composed by Samuel Taylor Coleridge (1772–1834) between 1795 and 1807. Each details a particular life experience which led to the poet's examination of nature and the role of poetry. They describe virtuous conduct and man's obligation to God, nature and society, and ask as if there is a place for simple appreciation of nature without having to actively dedicate one's life to altruism.

The Conversation poems were grouped in the 20th century by literary critics who found similarity in focus, style and content. The series title was devised to describe verse where Coleridge incorporates conversational language while examining higher ideas of nature and morality. The works are held together by common themes, in particular they share meditations on nature and man's place in the universe. In each, Coleridge explores his idea of "One Life", a belief that people are spiritually connected through a universal relationship with God that joins all natural beings. (Wiki)

Such fascinating writings poetry can be. Still, I am trying my hand at this dialogue thing. Good luck, I guess.

Stream of ConsciousnessInspirationChallengeAdvice

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran16 days ago

    Oh wow, I never knew that there was so much to it. So nice of you to share this with us. Thank you so much! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    Well, I jumped in with my entry way before I read this in-depth criteria/definition. But I'm satisfied that I wrote a poem, call it whatever it may...lol Wish I had read your work, first though, Novel. Thank you!

  • Dana Crandell16 days ago

    Aaaaand, back to say that I just read about the Dialogue Challenge, and the way it's described therein makes sense.

  • Hasan16 days ago

    how to contact you i will discus some questions

  • Dana Crandell16 days ago

    I've enjoyed researching and trying new poetic forms, but I still occasionally abandon all the "rules" and just let a piece become what it wants to be. If that makes me less than a poet, so be it. I haven't looked into Dialogue or Conversation poems, as a form, although I don't know if the examples helped. I suppose Shakespeare's "Sonnet 18" could be seen as conversational? It opens with a question to the subject of his interest and is obviously "spoken" to her, rather than simply being written in a descriptive sense. Is that the idea?

  • Lamar Wiggins16 days ago

    Believe it or not, this helped me understand a little more about these forms. I still have no clue where to begin, lol. But this article definitely put my head in the game. Thank you.

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.