Writers logo

Dear Pen Pal,...

For the 'Write me a Letter' Challenge

By Lindsey AltomPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
Dear Pen Pal,...
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

This is for the unofficial 'Write me a Letter Challenge' posted by Heather Hubler-thanks for the challenge Heather!

https://vocal.media/writers/write-me-a-letter-challenge

Dear Pen Pal,

It is so lovely to hear from you. I am sorry to hear that life has been so heavy for you as of late. To be honest, it has been heavy for me as well in a way. There is so much in this ole' world that can cause us humans heaviness or strife to the point where it feels as if it is a battle just to breath every day, just to get out of bed. Presently, my grandfather is a very sick man and as he lies in his hospital bed day in and day out I see my father and grandmother's worry lines crease a little more day by day. I am worried for my two very best friends in all the world, my sisters if you will. So full of worry and anxiety they are which I suppose we all are but I just want nothing but happiness for them. I can't seem to find love that is lasting if my life depended on it so I've taken myself on a journey to learning to love myself which is both frustrating and exhilarating. Alas, we do not get to determine our lot in life. And finally, because honestly I find her and my biological sisters to be of the lest importance my narcissistic mother and her clones seem to be on the final stages of discarding me which is hurtful but I am doing the same to them so I can't blame them really and thus, it is for the best. I do hope your troubles lessen soon as do I hope the same for my own set of troubles.

Now, to look to the light my dear friend....I haven't had much time as of late to travel amongst the trees and hike the highest peaks. That is one thing that I greatly love to do but I, like yourself, have found some solitude in the words of others. Reading is quite the magical thing is it not? When you open a book or read a poem or short story from another person's hand you suddenly travel to another land, another dimension if you will and you become enveloped in said land and/or dimension. Suddenly, you put yourself into that main character's shoes and try to become that person and not yourself. You imagine what it would be like, what it would feel like, look like, how might they feel, what might they see, touch, smell...? Oh my, it is so very exciting! And with writing... Suddenly, you don't have to be yourself and you can be anyone you want to be... just imagine the possibilities! You can use writing as a tool to simply vent your frustrations with the world or it can be an outlet for your bubbling imagination. It is all your choice my friend. I am well aware that you know this already because we are writers, artists are we. We create, we design, redesign, full of zest we are, we elaborate, imagine...we live in our heads or above the clouds as some might say most days however (I don't know about you) I do quite prefer it here above the clouds. “But the wild things cried, “Oh please don’t go - we’ll eat you up - we love you so!” by Maurice Sendak I quite love that quote from Where the Wild Things Are and I think of it in terms of putting down a book your enjoying or leaving your writing. Writing is my happy place as I'm sure you feel the same. I wish you well my friend, until next time!

Best Wishes,

Lenora

LifeWriting ExerciseChallenge

About the Creator

Lindsey Altom

For me, writing runs in the blood. I've written songs, poems and short stories ever since I was a little girl. I mostly like to write about my life experiences mixed with a little fiction or just things that come off the top of my head!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    Thank you so much for participating in the challenge, Lindsey :) This felt just like we've been pen pals, and you were sharing life. I'm not sure if all of this true or there are bits of fiction woven in, but I definitely know the family struggles. Setting healthy boundaries is essential but definitely not easy. Sending big hugs that things get better for you. That you get a chance to take air deep in your lungs and breathe out the bad. That you know how much I appreciate your thoughts. And I loved that quote!! Wonderful piece :) (PS...I think you may be missing a Z. But that could be my eyes failing as well, lol)

  • Shirley Belk9 months ago

    Loved your thoughts and words

Lindsey AltomWritten by Lindsey Altom

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.