Writers logo

Day 14: “Where” Writing

On the City Bus, Wedding in an Old Church, Canoe on a River

By Denise E LindquistPublished 15 days ago Updated 14 days ago 3 min read
5
Day 14: “Where” Writing
Photo by weston m on Unsplash

In “SONG-WRITING WITHOUT BOUNDARIES” by Pat Pattison, this is the last of the Who, What, When, and Where writing. Other prompts to follow. Pattison uses timed writing. I ordered his book and started this challenge because of another Vocal author.

The picture above is for the first prompt listed.

Today brings the last “Where” writing. It is good to make small changes to keep from getting bored!

The prompt “Where” is being timed and the idea is to include as many of the following list as I can; sight, sound, taste, touch, smell, body, motion! I continue to be more focused on the timing than the words, although I am getting better at remembering to include some of them.

Remember that the timer can go off in the middle of a sentence, or word. Please complete it the best you can using your thoughts! Thank you.

This is day fourteen prompts:

Timed for 5 minutes: On the City Bus.

The last time I was on the city bus was in Minneapolis, Minnesota as a teenager. I went with my cousins downtown. We were walking down Hennepin Avenue and other downtown streets. We were seeing the sights, and listening to the sounds of the city.

There were some very distinct smells. When riding the bus, I remember being jostled around. The bus had a very distinct stop, and I could feel the motion of the bus stopping for each passenger exiting the bus.

It was a ride downtown and then back to their neighborhood in South Minneapolis. It was a fun time for me the country bumpkin being a teenager in the big city. I wasn’t acting like a bumpkin, but I knew my cousins could tell.

I lived in the cities until I was 10 years old, but I quickly turned into a small-town girl. I don’t regret that as I still am a country…

Timed for 10 minutes: Wedding in an Old Church.

In 1971, I was married in the St. Mary’s Catholic Church in Naytahwaush, Minnesota. I was seventeen years old, and it was an old church that had standing room only when we turned around to go to the basement for the reception.

The wedding in an old church was my mother's idea. She planned and paid for everything. All we had to do was to show up. The reception was held in the basement of the church. We were married on November 6, and it stormed that day. We thought no one would make it.

Even though I have a large family, the church was fairly bare when we started the service. Later it was quite a surprise when the old church was full. Our wedding was fun, and the food was good, and the music was great, later we moved to a dance at the local Pinehurst resort.

My family is buried at the cemetery across from the church. The church has been around since probably the 1800s or maybe as late as the early 1900s. It is well maintained, and I will probably be buried with my family in the same cemetery, across from the church.

My mother forgot to hire a photographer, so several days later we went in for photographs. It was not the best thing to do as items were lost, including shoes. The party was quite the party afterward.

The county was a dry county and liquor could be brought into the resort, but someone had to go for it and the couple that did drove our car over a culvert, and the wedding party ended up having to extract our car from the ditch that day.

All and all it was a good time and no one had any regrets. We were married and planning to live happily ever after. We had no children on the way as the rumors went. I was happy to be married to my man and to have plans to graduate from high school and then college.

Timed for 90 seconds: Canoe on a River.

The Boundary Waters Canoe Area (BWCA) is where I have spent most of my canoe time. I enjoy the things we see in the BWCA and all that the trip there entails. I love the water and I love to canoe on a river!

My daughter, friends and I love to paddle, and I remember going in circles with my daughter due to her strong paddling. We had to switch spots in the canoe. It was great fun.

~~~~~~~~

First published by Mercury Press on medium.com

LifeWriting ExercisePrompts
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk13 days ago

    The old church across from the burial site of your ancestors intrigues me. Maybe they were present as well?

  • I especially loved reading about your wedding! It made me smile!

  • Mark Graham14 days ago

    All the stories were great and I really liked the wedding one.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.