Writers logo

Cat in Danger: People Lose their Minds

We really are a compassionate lot.

By Rene Volpi Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - March 2024
26
Cat in Danger: People Lose their Minds
Photo by Yerlin Matu on Unsplash

The people were all looking up and gathering around. By the time I got there, the commotion was in high gear. I asked someone who was already there what was happening. He, in sign language, indicated he was deaf and mute. OK, sorry, I said, in my best sign language version, which is near 0. So, I kept on looking up, but with my poor eyes, I couldn't make out what everybody was so intent on seeing. So I asked someone else. Excuse me… She moved away from me like I was a leprechaun. Oh well, that’s two for two, I thought. I chose to try my luck with this old timer and asked him.

He looked at me and asked if I did it. "What?!?... did what?

"Did you chase the cat up there?"

"Noooo!... I just wanted to know what’s happening. I just got here!” I replied, exasperated.

"Ahhh, ok! So you aren’t the one who caused this. It’s OK. I forgive you, my son. I know life can be difficult. My wife threw me out of the house last night, and for what? Just a little at the bar with my friends... What has this world turned to? Almost homeless, and for what?”

Stunned, replied, "For what?"

"How old are you, lad?"

"57," I said.

"You are a baby. I'm 82, and my wife wants me homeless!!"

As he turned, he grabbed a little bottle from his pocket for a quick gulp. I took advantage of the moment and politely said, "Ok, see you later! .... Thanks!”

I almost ran away from him.  But after that surrealistic scene, at least I found out there’s a cat in danger up there. The poor animal got too high up, and couldn't get down because he's scared, and now he's freaked out with all these people gathering and yelling down there. Because, by now, there are hundreds of people in that corner. And everybody disagreed on what to do next. Everyone! Some called 911 again and again, others called 211, some called their friends, others their husbands or wives. But before I had a chance to think how to help, they all had their phones out to take pictures, or to speak to someone about cat rescues and what not.

By Toms Rīts on Unsplash

Finally, I reached a spot where I could see the poor animal hanging precariously from these electric wires, and yes, my heart skipped a beat. 

We need a favour from the angels to get that kitten down without a tragedy happening. I mean, he was really high, like 60 feet; there's no way he’ll survive if he falls. Where are the fire people when you need them? They could do it in a minute, with the ladders they have. But there was none to be seen. I wish they would hurry up! Some volunteers started to climb, but others yelled at them not to do it, for that might scare him more. So they climbed back down again. Frustration was building up.

One person threw up, right on top of another bystander, and a fight ensued because of that. Another fight erupted because someone thought the whole thing was funny and was laughing. He won't laugh again anytime soon. I started to have an upset stomach because of all this stress.

An old woman, typical, pulled out an umbrella and started beating up the people who were fighting.

Another yelled that he was supposed to go on a much-needed holiday, and that his plane was taking off in an hour, and now he can’t because he wants to save the cat first. The entire place was like a theater play, with all these crazy characters making the spectacle. A Fellini film would have been less dramatic and strange.

If it wasn't because the kitty was in danger, we would probably all be laughing at the massive silliness everyone was displaying. But it’s countdown time. We all knew that he or she couldn’t hold on much longer up there, and we were all just looking, not knowing what to do. At least the weather helped out. Springtime had just started, so that was the good part. The best was yet to come… and it happened, probably how it all started.  

"Where is he, where is she, where is the cat?” said one.

“I can't see it any more!" said another.

"Me neither!"

"Nope! He’s not where he was before!"

"I can’t see him either." There was a chorus line of confusion.

True to a cat's nature, that is exactly what happened. With all the commotion going on below, the cat probably just walked to the nearby building he came from and made a fool out of everyone anxiously watching below. 

Incredibly, the more you think you know about cats, the less you actually do.

Lessons learned...

Bless his little heart! 

By Biel Morro on Unsplash

If you liked this story, would you treat my coffee love with a cup? <click there. :)

Community
26

About the Creator

Rene Volpi

I'm from Italy and write every day. Being a storyteller by nature, I've entertained (and annoyed) people with my "expositions" since I was a child, showing everyone my primitive drawings, doodles, and poems. Still do! Leave me a comment :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶5 days ago

    Hilarious read… except for concern for silly kitty 🐈‍⬛. So true ‘ Incredibly, the more you think you know about cats, the less you actually do.’

  • Phil Flannery2 months ago

    You say we're compassionate, but sometimes our passion takes over and causes problems. Cats will always have the last laugh. They know people are dumb.

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Congrats! i love cats and yes, very typical of them - you wrote it true and with humor!

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    I loved reading this warming but funny story. I had a cat who got stuck on the roof of a flat, and we still have no idea how it got there! Cats can get themselves in some very awkward situations, and your story reflects that and the humorous reactions that occur when it causes panic!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Dr Mehmet Yildiz2 months ago

    Thank you for this well-crafted piece. Congratulations on the recognition of this lovely piece. Keep up the great work.

  • LASZLO SLEZAK2 months ago

    Wow, congratulations story.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • David Heitz2 months ago

    Extremely cute! Great job!

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    As I read this I thought, "this sounds like a scene from my son's improv group." Then I read the line, "The entire place was like a theater play, with all these crazy characters making the spectacle." Great job setting the scene. Loved it.

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    Okay, you made us the fools! Clever... 😺

  • I was holding my breath the whole time! As long as he's okay, then I'm okay. But lol, the old man who accused you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.