Writers logo

Campfire Challenge Winners

September 10, 2023

By Mother CombsPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
Campfire Challenge Winners
Photo by Leon Contreras on Unsplash

Recently, I challenged everybody to write me a scary campfire tale. Many of you liked the idea, loving to read scary stories. A few took me up on the offer and wrote me some amazing tales of horror.

I consider a campfire story to be micro-fiction. So, each tale must be more than 75 words and less than 250 for this challenge. Post your stories under Fiction, of course. Remember to follow Vocal's community standards and guidelines when posting your tales. No AI, I want to read your honest ideas, not some computers (I can do that myself if I want to read AI).

Well, I am here to announce the winners of the Challenge. Just to let you know who scared my socks off. Below, you will also find the stories they submitted. Please check out their fantastic tales of horror and leave them some love.

Once you have read the microfiction entries below, please mention your favorite story in the comments below.

**********************************************************************

Paul Stewart Campfire Challenge Entry: Clock, Lamp Figurine

It's a psychological horror story that will have you on the edge of your seat. Sent chills down my spine.

**********************************************************************

Lamar Wiggins Campfire Challenge Entry: Fear is a game...

It's a psychological horror that pulls you in from the first sentence and keeps you gripping your tablet with anticipation to the last sentence. Completely enthralling.

**********************************************************************

Mark Gagnon Campfire Challenge Entry: Glorious Moon

It's a mysterious horror story with a nice twist at the end. He leaves you wondering right up to the last line what will happen--- a properly chilling piece.

**********************************************************************

Ian Read Campfire Challenge Entry: The Mortal Masquerade: A Microfiction

It's a horror that packs a punch. He leaves you wondering what the villain's plan is right to the end. The outcome completely chilled me.

**********************************************************************

Alivia Varvel Campfire Challenge Entry: Watchers

An excellent horror story. It scared me. Received a TOP STORY!!

**********************************************************************

Ashley Lima's Campfire Story Entry: Full Moon

It's a properly chilling horror story that scared me a lot. Should of also received a TOP Story.

**********************************************************************

Mohammed Darasi Campfire Challenge Entry: Tunnel Vision

It's a great horror story. The description he gives his monster will fill you with fear.

**********************************************************************

J.S. Wade Campfire Challenge Entry: The Moxies

It's a wonderfully simple innocent horror story that packs a punch at the end. It was awarded a TOP STORY!!

J.S. Wade

**********************************************************************

Rachel Deeming Campfire Challenge Entry: Loon in the Night

It's a chilling horror that will keep you on edge up to and beyond the end. I was pleasantly surprised by the scare.

**********************************************************************

Kendall Defoe Campfire Challenge Entry: Bus Ride

It's a wonderfully chilling horror story in the classic sense. I was glad I did not read this while on the bus.

**********************************************************************

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran Campfire Challenge Entry: The Horrifying Moniker

A truly classic campfire story. A must-read for anyone. You won't know whether to laugh or scream.

**********************************************************************

Alex H Mittelman Campfire Challenge Entry: Ghost Train to Nowhere

Short and sweet, this microfiction gets to the point fast--- a horrific ending.

**********************************************************************

I grew up with horror movies and shows. My older siblings were always telling us scary campfire stories. Some had endings that made us laugh; others would scare our socks off. That said, know it is hard to scare my socks off today. All the entries in my challenge were good enough to send chills down my spine and cause me to shiver, I am proud to say. Each writer gave it their all and put out their best work. Many Top Stories were awarded due to this challenge, which makes me proud. It is so hard to pick just one winner SO............. the winner is ................................ EVERYONE!!!! All the stories were brilliant and scared me equally!!

Thanks to everyone who participated in my first-ever challenge!!

**********************************************************************

Gerard Dileo Campfire Challenge Entry: Adrenal Insufficiency

**********************************************************************

The Invisible Writer Campfire Entry: Fear

Writing ExerciseShoutoutPromptsCommunityChallenge

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Congrats! everyone!!! Such a fun challenge, Mother. Thanks again for the inspiration.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Oh, wow! Thank you for the shoutout and kind words about my odd little story. I shall be checking out the other participants I may have missed. Congrats to all and well done and thank you for hosting such a cool little challenge, Sharon!

  • Awww, we're all winners! Thank you so much for the shoutout! Congrats everyone!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Awesome!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Mark Gagnon10 months ago

    Thanks for including my story and congratulations to everyone who participated.

  • Ian Read10 months ago

    Thank you for the shout-out! All these stories were brilliant!

  • Alivia Varvel10 months ago

    Thank you for mentioning mine! I agree, this whole challenge wins because we got to read some great horror pieces.

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Thank you for the mention! And all the stories are great! Thanks for the challenge!

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.