Writers logo

Buddy

The Ultimate Dragon I Know

By Angel AdagioPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
2
Buddy
Photo by Laith Abushaar on Unsplash

I was once in a room speaking to some friends about the incoming ruler of the land. I had yet to meet them but had heard that they were a scary force to be reckoned with.

That day arrived and I was pleasantly surprised to see a kind soul walk through. Unfortunately, I was always told this ruler was unkind and unfair to my friends. I felt conflicted.

I steered clear of this ruler at all times, as I believed they did not like me for being friends with some of their servants. We rarely interacted, but I was always greeted with a smile by them, so they couldn't be that bad. Right?

Constantly, it was bad thing after bad thing that was being told to me and I felt awful for my friends. They then began lying to the ruler just to keep them off their back.

I once remember the ultimate struggle happening for my friends. I was the stability for them. I kept them afloat, but I eventually began drowning myself. None of them noticed. I kept my smiles and kept everything secret so everyone felt loved. But I was alone. I had nothing left to give and began to self-destruct.

Then, the ruler began checking on me. Noticed the small things that changed about me. Would ask how I was doing and want to talk about my previous adventures. Showing me the ultimate kindness. I began to question if there were ulterior motives. This ruler never cared before, so there must've been a reason why.

One day, the ruler requested to speak to me in their lair. I was hesitant but decided to do as they said. They mentioned everything they noticed had changed about me, what they were concerned about, and wanted to make sure I was alright.

I broke down. I was finally seen.

I told them as much I could that day and from then on, felt a deeper connection to this ruler and decided it was right to work as one of their newest servants.

We went from being strangers; me only knowing the version of them as the awful mean ruler that had been painted for me, to one of the kindest souls I have ever met. We became friends.

My service to them was not the easiest, as the other servants had a deep hatred for me and everything I was. It became physically impossible to want to continue my service for this ruler, but they supported me in every way possible.

This ruler and I became family.

When things became too much, the ruler would help me escape and remind me that this place was only temporary and I will find my permanent escape. Just like they did. And while it pained me to see them go, I knew they needed their peace and they wouldn’t ever abandon me.

And so outside the of being a servant, we went on our own adventures and created our holiday traditions that would last. It was the first time where I felt as though I finally had a forever friend and I never want to let go.

So to my dragon, thank you for all that you are. I cannot imagine a world without your power. You have done so much for me that I cannot express my gratitude.

While the saying goes, people can come into your life for a reason, a season, or a lifetime, I am glad that my dragon will be part of the journey for the lifetime.

To my dragon, thank you. I don’t know where I’d be without you.

ChallengeInspiration
2

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. It may not be perfect, but it's real. I hope you'll stay a while.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.