Writers logo

Authors, I'd Like to Know

The dream that made me

By Brin J.Published 11 months ago 4 min read
*unsplash* patrick-fore

In addition to sharing my genesis as a writer, this article also is calling all dreamers, writers, romantics, and the like. I'd like to know about the process that shaped your versatility as an author as well.

First and foremost, I'd like to shout out our Vocal creators. I think the introduction to the Books, Chapters, Critique, and Writers' Communities was a great addition to Vocal. For it's given us multiple channels to share and teach one another how to improve our story-telling talents. Thanks, guys! We appreciate your attentiveness to our needs and demands. <3

Alright, back to business. Here's a brief overview of my own adventure as an unpublished author. I began my writing journey two years ago, and despite having finished those three books, I still feel like an amateur. Because although I was the top student in all my English classes, my major was Zoology. So I never learned the steps or process of how to write a novel.

I've always been an avid reader. Just this past year I finished 147 books. Some I've read more than once. But I still don't think that gives me the right to say I have a grasp on how to make a great story.

You know the phrase: I didn't choose (insert profession). It chose me. Well, that's how I wound up as a writer. I threw a dream I'd been having for eight years onto paper, and it turned into a trilogy.😅 Oops.

I'll admit, it was messy. The draft was cluttered with a lot of unnecessary details that didn't need to be there. But, to my surprise, it was functional. My characters were strong, the plot made sense, and every chapter had something new and interesting to add to the story. Impressive? Nah, it was just somewhat organized word vomit on paper (as it was originally intended to be). My biggest problem was over-sharing. Stripping it bare was hard for me because I felt everything was essential to the outcome of the ending. I've come a long way since then.

If you're wondering what it is I wrote: it's a dark and gruesome fiction story about the end of the world and how morally corrupt people become when there's anarchy. I'm dead serious. My trigger warning list is almost two pages long. Some of my betta readers couldn't finish the whole thing as they were so disturbed 😭, which is why I've never moved to publish them.

The very first chapter opens with a horrific event: the catastrophe that sets the new world in motion. I establish the tone instantly, letting my readers know I'm writing an unsettling tragedy. I was debating on posting the first chapter here so I could get feedback on it. (If anyone is interested in reading the story I dreamt up that so far only two people could bear to read, let me know.)

Anyway, back to my point. From there, I just couldn't stop writing. I learned about Vocal and joined the Community. Honestly, it was the best thing I'd ever done. I was in a dark place at the time (hence the horror story) and was spiraling in a direction I didn't want to go. I joined the platform, and entered competitions (I haven't won any, but that wasn't the purpose of why I joined, so I'm not bothered by this). The Challenges helped improve my writing. I was invited by Leslie to the Vocal Facebook group, and people gave me constructive feedback. Some became huge fans of my work and unwittingly inspired me to keep writing. (Hi Heather!)

This support meant a lot to me... because my family doesn't want to read my work. I don't have a significant other who enjoys reading like I do. I don't have friends that promote me in this endeavor. Sadly, I have no one excited about my journey to become an author.

I'm not looking for pity or sympathy. I'm just expressing why I'm glad I found Vocal. I feel like I landed in the right place at the right time, and had I not, I don't think I'd have pursued this passion. I'd have dropped it.

That being said, I still feel like I have a lot to learn as a writer. I've self-taught for the past two years, and I'm still learning new things every day. I'm glad for it. I actually love to learn. I enjoy keeping my brain active by constantly filling it with new knowledge. I read people's stories, watch Tiktok videos, visit blogs (I have a few of my favorites saved), I befriended a writing coach, and take constructive feedback seriously. I know I'm not perfect. Criticism of my work means I have room for improvement, and I want to improve. I want to be proud of what I produce. Because if this unplanned venture has taught me anything, it's that writing is more than just a pastime. It's become my lifeline.

Feel free to share where you went to help you strengthen your skills when you discovered your love for writing. What did you do? How effective were certain lessons you picked up? What wasn't helpful? What writing tools do you recommend? I'm not looking for shortcuts. I merely want to hear how people develop their writing capabilities. Any advice is appreciated and welcomed. 🥰

ResourcesProcessInspirationCommunityChallengeAdvice

About the Creator

Brin J.

I have a few stories and poems inside me that I want to share. Maybe, if I'm lucky, they'll reach people who'll enjoy them. 📖

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Raymond G. Taylor10 months ago

    Great heartfelt writing. The thing that makes you a writer is that you write. If you have written three books, that's pretty good going so don't stop. I don't often read about published authors but it seems many were not successful first time around (the writing and the getting published) so keep writing and keep badgering publishers if you want to get published. Drafts are messy. That's why they are called drafts and not polished end product. Editors turn messy into polished. You have to be your own editor before you can ask someone else to do it for you. Platforms like Vocal are brilliant for helping to build audience and followers and publishers expect that kind of thing these days. Keep the faith, share the love, keep on hitting the keyboard.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    I love that you wrote that dark story with all the trigger warnings anyway :) And I've appreciated seeing you strengthen your craft over the last year. You are such a bright talent and a lovely person. I hear you about not having people in your life excited about your writing journey. I'm in the same boat, pretty much. So great to have the platform to share. The best writing advice I received was to keep writing, be authentic and be true to yourself. i think you're doing all three :)

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Impressive & inspiring!!! Loved it!!!♥️♥️💕

Brin J.Written by Brin J.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.