Writers logo

A Writer Block's Bust

Hopefully....

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Like
A Writer Block's Bust
Photo by Uday Mittal on Unsplash

I have caught a bad case of the writer's block, (and also crappy internet.)

Crappy internet is the least of my worries since I could just write using Word then copy and past it to Vocal. But can't do that when you are stuck.

***

This is how it has been going for me recently.

I come up a pretty good idea, then I go gung-ho and let my fingers fly over the keyboard for five minutes until I am stuck. Next, I jump to either a draft or another idea only for it to happen again.

Maybe it's because I have so many ideas and my brain is short-circuiting. So I am about to try something.

A mind dump (and some updates) to empty my mind (or at least lessen the noise some) so I can focus and allow a story to flow through uninterrupted.

***

I sang during karaoke for the first time ever this Saturday.

It wasn't part of an competition; just some fun with friends. I was so scared to, mainly because I get in my own head and build up the fear, but then one my friends suggested we sing a song together.

"We can be scared together," is what I said before we finally went up to the makeshift stage and belt out Before He Cheats.

Then I couldn't stop. I never was by myself, but I had lots of fun and people kept telling me that they hope I would finally sing more at other parties. Maybe I'll sing a song by myself next time.

***

Let's talk about I Wrote My Way Out.

Or more some ideas circling in my head.

  1. I figured out the name of the parents and some sort of background for them. The dad is Marquan Jacobs and the mom is Ann Marie Winslow. Marquan is the accountant for Ann Marie's father (job unknown), while Ann Marie is the secretary.
  2. Scott Christenson made a comment that helped birth an idea for a potential series. If I do this, it will definitely happen sometime after I finish my Colors of Grief series.

I'd like to learn more about Dad, how he handled everything, and some stories of things that happened involving him before he died. It feels the territory covered in this story could be a much longer story.

3. I don't have ideas of what to name the main female character (MFC) for this story. (Maybe you do.)

4. I Wrote My Way Out would take place in 1991-92, especially surrounding the events of the 1992 L.A. Riots.

5. The MFC will be struggling with a lot. Her father's death, her mother's ex-boyfriend's abuse, being a mixed child in Compton, fighting against the negative thoughts of worthlessness, etc.

***

Colors of Grief Update:

(Shoot I need to update the article with a couple of new ideas, courtesy of Hope Martin.)

I have been thinking about turning Colors of Grief into a book. Not only would it include Gabriel's journey with his grief, but also Andrea's story of what she went through. Let me be honest for a moment, I am more terrified to release this as a book than I was when it came to my poetry collection. But, publishing it on Vocal first means that it is already out there for the world to see, so why not have it in book form?

Now I keep thinking of the quote where "bravery is not the absence of fear, but the action in the face of fear." (I had to look up who said it; it was Mark Messier, at least according to this.)

From quotefancy.com

Hopefully, I will be writing and publishing Maroon in the next couple of days. (After I update the Colors of Grief journal/article.)

Speaking of journaling, I did like doing that for the main series, so I will be doing again for the bonus stories.

***

It just occurred to me the Vocal Writing Awards submission date has passed and now internal judging is going on. I only ended up submitting one story in the Flash Fiction category, because honestly, I feel my chances of passing the internal judging portion of the contest aren't very high.

But I want to take time to everyone else who submitted stories that I hope things goes well for you.

Two more weeks until the shortlist is announced.

***

I am bad at social media, or more the posting to social media.

(Which is funny because I am in my mid-20's and supposably we are supposed to great at regular posts.)

I often think it is because I prefer dealing with people face to face rather than through likes and comments, but I am going to have try and be better.

***

I am not quite sure if this will help, but I am glad I did this.

It would be cool to see you give something like a try. (Because I can't be the only one who is suffering from writer's block.)

CommunityWriting ExerciseWriter's BlockInspiration
Like

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Ha ha! Yeah, I could mind dump similarly! I hope it helps!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.