Writers logo

A New Years Promise

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like

I did not think this song would be one of the Best Classical Music Pieces of all Time. I did not think it would be Mozart, Bach or Beethoven. I did not think it would be one of the Top Christmas Songs. I wrote this piece during Covid-19. Just after I lost my Dad and way after I lost my oldest brother. I was trying to remember the families who lost loved ones. I watched on the news how the families promised their loved ones that they will remember them. Like I did with my Dad, I promised him that I would look like him and remember him. That nobody would take his place in my life. Just what I promised my mother that nobody would be my mother but her. During Covid-19 I spend a lot of time taking care of my Dad with my mother. I remember the struggles and I remember the laughter. I remember Dad wanting to watch what was going on in the world and how Mom wanted to make sure Dad was well taken care of. I remember watching my sisters help my mother and I take care of Dad as he was progressing. I even remember how my brothers in law were checking in. Everybody wanted Dad to make it. Everybody wanted him to see another day and to see his grandchildren become something. Dad knew he would not make it. Dad knew he was going but he made sure that I kept my promise to him. To take his place and help the family to the best of my ability. Dad loved family. He would talk about his family with everyone. He would say how much he knew about them. He didn't mind proving he loved his family. Dad loved God too. He would always express his love of preaching and gospel music. Mom was the same. She would talk about her problems to people she trusted. She would make sure dinner is ready even for grown adult children. Mom would make sure Dad would be comfortable. And I realized I had a good family. I realized I was loved. I realized that even though I did not have everything I wanted. I had a father. I had a mother. I had siblings who cared for me. That's like the greatest gifts a person could imagine. My Dad did not die of Covid-19 but of another disease besides ALS. We all knew he was ready because he wasn't acting himself. He was really really really tired. He was achy and would get mad. But through it all, he would try to love, he would try to care and he would try to show affection. And so we had his funeral, I was the last one to see him alive and I told the story to my siblings and Mom. The last words Dad said was Thank you Matt. I didn't know that they will be his last words. The saying is right what goes around comes around. Dad knew of my great awards coming in. And he must of said a prayer right along with Mom because I received every award that I couldn't imagine. One thing that he said like Mom was be as smart as you possibly can. Don't settle for less. Go as far as you can in academics. When I hear this song, I think of the many promises Mom and Dad made to me and I think of the many promises I make to others. Life is filled with promises choose wisely and live. Don't make any promises. Make life changing and life fulfilling and life moving promises and you will never be the same.

Interviews
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.