Writers logo

A Few Thoughts On Writing

Some Odd Observations

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
7
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

These are more thoughts on writing, creating and what's been going through my head. I think I have stopped my self-censorship, resulting in several poems one after another, but I have also been getting some negative vibes which I am dealing with.

So Where Am I?

I am writing this in the Vocal editor and it just wiped this paragraph with the autosave resulting in me having to type it once more, except it is the next paragraph that got wiped, not this one which is about the Vocal editor wiping some of my work.

I was watching "Supernatural" and something happened that made me think I am a not very good writer, because of all the threads that you have to keep track of when you are writing a book, a play, a film or a TV episode.

The path to that point has to have been meticulously planned out and I tend to just let my words flow even when I am writing a fiction story.

Poetry tends to be simpler, but the new "Inverse" Vocal challenge I am finding very difficult but I have entered three short poems, I don't tend to give up very easily, I usually find a way although this does seem to annoy some people.

Watching "Supernatural" has also given me an idea for a new Abecedarian poem, which may be the story that follows this one. Abecedarian poetry is difficult because every line (all twenty-six or them) has to start with a different word or letter, similar to the Alphabet Folk songs that I have written about.

I am impressed with the entries so far and there have been many great examples. I originally intended just to enter two old ones but have so far entered eight, and the "Supernatural" one will be number nine.

I still feel lazy when I am writing a poem, although sometimes there is a hell of a lot of work that goes into them.

Conclusion

These are just a few thoughts for other writers who may be dealing with similar demons to me.

The music is "Turn The Page" by The Streets because to move forward we have always got to turn to the next page.

VocalProcessLifeCommunityAdvice
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    Nine Abecedarians? I've yet to make it through one, lol! Sally forth, Mike!

  • Whoaaaa your perseverance tends to annoy people? Shame on them!

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    I loved your parting line, so true!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.