Writers logo

24 Writing Aspirations for 2024

What I have in mind for 2024 as a writer.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 months ago 6 min read
2
24 Writing Aspirations for 2024
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash
  1. Get a book translated in another language - I've been lucky to have books translated in several languages, but it would still be nice to get it translated in a couple more, especially languages like Tagalog and Romanian. The only language I know and can say I am fully fluent in is English.
  2. Another book in the National Poetry Library - It was such a wonderful achievement to have my first book, Drinking Poetry, chosen to be in the catalogue of the National Poetry Library in London. I've been there once myself and the collection is amazing. I think if I work on improving Living Poetry or Eating Poetry, then it might have a chance of being chosen to go in the catalogue. They do get a lot of submissions so it may take a while, but they do return books they decide not to take on.
  3. Write more stories about Yuzuko Shikumi - I put a lot of myself in Yuzuko as a character. There's also a lot of backstory I wrote for her that dosen't get explored in the Game of Mass Destruction novel because I thought it would serve better in another story. Little things like her knowledge on different teas, coming from a super wealthy family, brought up in a world set in the future which is kinda the same but also different to our world.
  4. Try more of the prompts from the writing groups I am in.- My local writing groups always generate lots of prompts that we can work on, but sometimes they don't always inspire me so I end up writing something different or carry on what I am working on. This year I want to write a story based on one of the prompts and be able to stick with it.
  5. Finish St. Fandom Academy - I don't think I ever finished the original version back in 2008. I would like to give this fic a proper ending and give it some closure but I don't know how long it's going to be and how it's going to end yet.
  6. Improve one of the books I have already published. - Even though I have a lot of books already published, they're quite short and would like to expand some of them. I would also like to give some of them more better and eyecatching covers. I plan to look at more tutorials on Canva and design some myself at some point.
  7. Spreading the word about the K-Pop Scandal. The book has been my main writing project for a few years and it's been a lot of fun. I can't remember the amount of times I've edited the story though, so I'm excited to get it out onto more platforms.
  8. Attend more writing meet ups and work shops. - I went to so many during the summer but then I didn't go to as many. I hope to do some more meet ups and attend some workshops again. I always found workshops inspiring, especially if they were open to all levels. I liked how everyone's journeys were so different.
  9. Try more writing contests and challenges outside of Vocal. - My writing friends share a lot of contests and challenges, but the only ones that pipped my interest were ones on Vocal. I would like to try some more outside of Vocal since my V+ membership is expiring this year. I'm saving my money for future trips and will put my premium memberships on hold for now.
  10. Choose a writing retreat to join. - I have always wanted to go to one. I've been eyeing up writing retreats in Greece, but I think it will be more realistic to do one in the UK or set up a virtual one on the go. A writing holiday sounds super fun.
  11. Try a new writing course. - I've seen lots of writing courses around. I think the last one I attended was one at my local arts centre.
  12. Bring my Macbook with me more. - It will be super handy on my days off. I missed the feeling of writing in cafes.
  13. Write in my notebooks more. - I got lots of new writing notebooks and I want to use them all, but I can't. :(
  14. Complete some of the prompts in my prompt book. - Around 2016, I bought the young writer's edition of 642 things to write about. I haven't used it in ages, and would love to be able to use all the prompts in it.
  15. Fill in more pages of my journals. - I've got a few gifted journals that are beautiful. I feel bad that I don't use them as much as I would like to.
  16. Make a new writing playlist. - I would like to write new playlists based on the genre that I am writing in. Maybe some ones I made on Spotitfy might work.
  17. Write a horror story. - Not one filled with guts and gore. I'm thinking something more eerie like a hand on a shoulder that's not real or games with the mind.
  18. Improve book covers for some of my books. - Some of my covers aren't very eye-popping. I wince at some of them, so imagine what readers would think. At the time I used to think they were quirky and fun, but some do need improving.
  19. Make my work reachable in other formats. - TekTime recently announced that all languages will be availible in paperback and not just the languages on Amazon. It would stretch my cover creating abilities and also trying to figure out the ones that read right to left.
  20. Attend a book fair. - I had the oppurtunity to go to one last night but it clashed with another event. I hope I can make it to one this year.
  21. Rewrite one of my old short stories. - It would be interesting to see how things would change. Would the ending be the same? Would I torture the characters more?
  22. Get a short story published in a zine or anthology. - It wouldn't matter if it was a paid publication or not, it's nice to have something chosen and selected to be published. Makes me feel more authentic as an author.
  23. Try writing in a new style. - I would like to try new forms of poetry and prose that I haven't written before. I haven't written many scripts or plays and wouldn't know where to start with formatting it, so that would be something good to explore.
  24. Develop a writing routine that fits around my work, fitness schedule. - I'm doing between 6-8 fitness classes at my local gym before and after my shifts at work. I love the classes, but I've found that I've been too tired to write. So I think I will try and fix up a proper routine for the week that will help me allign with both my writing and fitness goals.

Inspiration
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Good luck with all of these! Its pretty awesome that you already have work in other languages! And completely hear you on the writing routine. I always start witht he best of intentions and get completely lost along the way!

  • Scott Christenson4 months ago

    Good luck with all your writing goals! Some great ideas here. Also, the reedsy competitions are quite similar to vocal if you want to try something different and get very fast feedback.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.