Writers logo

11 Sentences About Writing No One Wants To Hear

but I'm going to tell you anyway

By Elise L. BlakePublished 8 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - September 2023
24
11 Sentences About Writing No One Wants To Hear
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Writers are not usually ones for gatekeeping, but we do sometimes keep some things for ourselves even though there can be a benefit in sharing with those who may not have been through the pages as we have -  yet. 

Or maybe we have been sharing them, but those who think we are only trying to discourage them from trying tend to scroll on without taking our hard-learned advice to heart. 

Well here are eleven things about writing that you need to hear, even if you don't want to listen. 

1. Writer's Block Doesn't Exist 

Sorry, but it really doesn't. 

It's just a mask writers throw on to hide what it truly is. 

Procrastination, perfectionism, and poor outlining.

2. Burn Out Is Real, but It Can Be Avoided

I can be the first to tell you that it is very easy to get burned out when writing. After typing away at a novel nonstop for days, averaging three thousand words a day in the hope of completing my novel in only a month, well that one month turned into two, and now in this third month, I haven't been able to bring myself to open my document even once. 

Don't set extreme goals for yourselves and remember to take breaks and care for yourself mentally, emotionally, and physically. 

3. If You Want to Write You Need To Read

It's almost impossible to be a writer without being a reader because reading is where we learn how to write. 

Reading teaches us how to write dialogue, develop plots, and keep the tension high while having the perfect pacing to keep our readers flipping through the pages. 

You can take all the writing classes in the world, but unless you read, you're not going to be able to use them effectively. 

4. No One Is Going to Take You Seriously - Until You're Serious

My family didn't take me seriously as a writer - until I closed the door. 

Working from home seemed to give everyone the excuses of - Oh, she's home - she can help with the laundry, the dishes, she can walk her sister's dog, she can run these errands or just be free for a chat with however else is home that day since I live in a home with a revolving door of family.

But then I closed my office door and got a flashy Do Not Disturb Sign and told everyone in my home that I was not available until a certain time in the day - because I was working and my body really doesn't like it when I slack off. 

5. Deadlines Are Your Greatest Motivator

Even if you don't have a contest or a submission deadline, or even an agent telling you that your manuscript is three weeks overdue for revision (sorry!) Deadlines are how you force yourself to focus and not get distracted or procrastinate. 

6. Writing Is the Easy Part - Just Wait Till You Get To Editing

Writing sometimes is essentially just word vomiting alphabet soup onto the page of all of the ideas you have for your novel. 

Editing is where you rearrange all the letters to tell a story.  

7. Yes - You Really Do Need a Professional

There's going to be a point in the process where you are going to have to seek help from someone unless you really are a jack of all trades, but you know what they say about that… 

Whether it's going to be someone helping with editing, formatting, cover design, or marketing, there's no shame in getting help from a professional. 

8. Nobody Has to Care About Your Book- But You Have to Make Them

When readers walk into any bookstore they are going to be faced with hundreds or thousands of books to choose from. Why should they choose yours? 

Does it have a cover that grabs their attention? Did they see it posted somewhere on Instagram? 

You could have written the best book ever written, but unless readers know about it they won't go pick it up. 

9. You Have to Get Used to Rejection

Rejection from agents is one thing, and that can really be a hill to climb, but there's also the rejection from readers that just comes with the territory of putting things out there for people to criticize. 

Some people aren't going to like your book. 

Some people are going to leave bad reviews. 

Don't read them. Once your book is out there there is nothing you can do about what people think of it, so focus on the positive feedback. 

10. There Is More to Writing Than Just Writing

I touched on this earlier but not only do you have to write your book, but there's more to it than that. Outlining, editing, formatting, cover design, copywriting, marketing, interacting with readers (appropriately.) 

After you've written a few books you can go ahead with your plan to be a recluse in the woods, but for those first few books, you do have to put yourself out there.  

11. Writing Is a Journey That Has No End

You can start writing stories from the moment you learn how to put pen to paper, and you can continue telling stories until the day you decide that you have no stories left to tell. 

Now go on and write your story. 

Best of luck and with love, 

B - King xo xo

Want to write with me live? I'm now on Twitch! Come join me in some writing sprints every Wed-Thurs-Fri-Sat at 10:30 pm EST

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

Click my link to start your 7-day free trial today and start earning more for your stories.

_____________________________________________

This story was originally posted on Medium. Join Medium as a member for just $5/month to access premium content and help me continue creating articles like these. You can also earn money by posting your own stories using Mediums' Partner Program.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1. Your support keeps my creativity brewing. Treat me to a cup! ☕

Thanks for your support and happy writing!

Advice
24

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • abdul qayyum8 months ago

    informative story.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby8 months ago

    I agree with you on all points, very true

  • Atomic Historian8 months ago

    This is one of the best articles I have ever read on Vocal. I feel like we’ve been on similar vibe. Now for me to finish writing the article I started writing so you can know why. It wasn’t procrastination, I just had other projects I wanted out first.

  • Brin J.8 months ago

    This is exactly what I needed to read today. I've been having the hardest time finishing one of my books that I started a year and a half ago. Plot is done, chapters have been thought-out, but I'm constantly walking away from it because I feel burnt out by just trying to make everything connect. Also POV. Anyway, glad I saw this. So serendipitous. Thank you for using this platform to give advice, because it does reach people. People who need it- like me! :)

  • This line is so true: "My family didn't take me seriously as a writer - until I closed the door." There's something about closing any door in the house to your family. That physical boundary is real. I had to put up a "Knock Before You Enter" sign on my home office door. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Marvelous message!!! Love it!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!❤️❤️💕

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Well done, writers block is the hardest truth of all. You are correct, I felt I had it till I just start writing, eventually the words begin to flow. Congratulations

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    Well done, I agree with what you have said here. I remember when I started writing my novel thinking 3 or 4 months. A little over a year later I had 96,000 words and that was just first draft. Congrats on Top Story.

  • Mark Graham8 months ago

    All of these are good and makes one think about this career of ours, but I am doing just fine for I am a writer of book reviews for a print and online magazine.

  • ARC8 months ago

    Great one, Barbara. These are indeed some tough ones to swallow sometimes - and some great reminders all the times :)

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    That’s all true! Great article!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.