Wheel logo

Two Things To Know Before Ordering A Tesla

I Learned the Hard Way

By Zante CafePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Two Things To Know Before Ordering A Tesla
Photo by Tesla Fans Schweiz on Unsplash

On a fluke, I placed my order for a Tesla. I followed Tesla closely, and it was announced that the full self-driving mode would increase in price. I love Tesla. I think all-electric vehicles are where the automotive industry is heading in the next ten years. However, I also heard that the long-range Model 3 was ‘unavailable’ until 2023. I panicked and placed my order. Now I am awaiting the Performance Model 3 by November. I also bought the complete self-driving package.

I thought my family would also have the same level of excitement that I had. I was wrong. My wife told me,” Don’t rush into all-electric cars. You don’t know how long they are going to last.”

Surprisingly, my son told me, “Big mistake. Did you test-drive it?”

I said, “No.”

“Dad, you’re tall, and your back sometimes bothers you. How do you know that you can fit in? The seats may be hard or uncomfortable. You never buy a car unless you test-drive it.” He said all of this while throwing his hands up in the air.

Rule number one: Never buy a car without test-driving it.

I thought scheduling a test drive with a Tesla dealership would be easy. I was surprised that no slots were available for a test drive in my city. My city is a decent size. The city proper had a population of 400,000, and the populace of the metropolitan area exceeded two million. There was one Tesla store in my city. I tried a few days later. No openings. I checked every week. No openings. It took me six weeks to finally get a test drive scheduled.

I talked to my friends and announced that I had broken down and pulled the trigger. They all asked what I ordered. Finally, I confessed that I had ordered the Model 3.

My friend Ray, who has owned three Teslas since 2014, told me, “For a few thousand more, you could have gotten a Model Y. The Y is much better.”

I started to regret my decision.

After work, I called Tesla to see if I could change my order from the Model 3 to the Model Y. After ten minutes holding for a live person, I finally talked to someone. I explained, “ I don’t want to cancel my order, but I simply wanted to change it from the Model 3 to a Model Y. I don’t want to lose my deposit.”

Rule Number Two: You must cancel your order and lose your deposit if you want to switch from one model to another. Talk to someone who has owned a Tesla for several years, preferably more than one Tesla model, before placing an order.

“ I’m sorry, sir, that will require you to cancel your Model 3 order and reorder your Model Y. You will lose your deposit. If you want to change within the Model 3, no problem. You can change from the rear-drive model to the performance model without difficulties. Again, no problem if you wanted to change the color of the exterior finish, interior upholstery, tire size, etc..”

I sat on the phone in silence. I didn’t know what to do. I had time on my side, so I said, “ I’ll leave everything as is. Don’t change anything. Thank you.” I hung up and decided I needed to test drive both models before doing anything. I hope I guessed right.

electricgadgetsproduct reviewself drivingindustry
Like

About the Creator

Zante Cafe

The Coffeehouse to the World

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.