Wheel logo

My Silly Muscle Car Dreams Part II

All the other 1970 Muscle Cars I dream of owning

By Steve B HowardPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
My Silly Muscle Car Dreams Part II
Photo by Michael Aleo on Unsplash

In 1964 Pontiac built the GTO. This is considered by many to be the very first Muscle Car. Ford also came out with the Mustang in 1964, though I don’t think it began being sold until late 1964 or 1965. They are often referred to as 1964 1/2 Mustangs. From 1964 on almost all of the major car companies in America were competing to build popular Muscle Cars. In 1970 almost all the American car companies produced at least one Muscle Car with a big block V8.

This was partially due to the fact that at that time if you wanted to compete in the various professional racing organizations such as the Trans Am or the American Rally racing circuit you had to build a certain number of street versions of the cars that you intended to race. So, most of the American car companies built at least one or more Muscle Cars with big block V8s similar to the ones they intended to race professionally that year.

In my original article, I listed 9 cars all from 9 different American car companies that I have dreamed of owning, though more than likely never will. As I mentioned though, many of the car companies including Dodge, Plymouth, Chevrolet, Pontiac, Ford, AMC, and Mercury all built several different Muscle Cars that year. Also, all of these Muscle Cars came in various different models. All of them included different engines as well.

In my case I don’t really have any preferences other than the cars have a V8. Power steering, power breaks, floor shifting automatics, and AC would all be nice creature comforts, though I could make do without them. If I was ever going to actually own any of these cars I would be perfectly happy to own either the small block or big block V8 versions. It would be nice to of course to own some of the more exotic ones like the Hemi engines that came in the Dodge and Plymouths or the L88 454s in the Chevys or of course the Cobra Jet cars for Ford, AMC and Mercury. But I wouldn’t be picky assuming I ever had the chance to own any of these cars. so continuing on from my original article here are some more 1970 Muscle Cars that I would absolutely love to own, in no particular order, as well as a couple more non-1970 honorable mentions.

Most of the Youtube videos here are either from Maple Motors, Muscle Car of the Week, Vanguard Motors, Hanksters and maybe a few other car dealerships that specialize in old Muscle Cars. Also, the videos from Muscle Car of the Week are pretty much always the top of the line exotic versions of these cars and for the most part matching numbers cars as well. Maple Motors though and a few of the other car dealerships are more of a mixed bag when it comes to the engines, transmissions, etc.

As I said early, I’d be happy to own pretty much any version of them, though most likely the Hot Wheels versions will be about the best I’ll ever own myself.

1970 Pontiac Trans Am (I put this one first simply because a 1975 Pontiac Firebird was my first car and the only Muscle Car I have ever owned)

1970 Corvette

1970 Camaro Z28

1970 Chevy Nova

1970 Chevy El Camino

1970 Ford Mustang Shelby

1970 Ford Mustang Mach I

1970 Ford Mustang Boss 302

1970 Mustang Fastback

1970 Dodge Charger

1970 Dodge Dart

1970 Plymouth Roadrunner

*NOTE: (in my first video I had a 1970 Plymouth Satellite that had been converted into a Roadrunner, so I thought I’d add a real one this time.)

1970 Plymouth Duster

Mopar People out there might be wondering why I didn’t include either a 1970 Dodge Daytona or a 1970 Plymouth Superbird. It isn’t because I don’t consider them two of the coolest and fastest Muscle Cars ever built, but instead because they are so rare it isn’t even worth dreaming of owning an original one.

1970 Mercury Cougar

Honorable Mentions

1971 Plymouth Satellite: You are probably wondering why I chose a 1971 car since I’m supposed to be drooling over cars that were built during my birth year, 1970. Well, I did include a 1970 Satellite in my first article that had been converted into a Roadrunner. The 1970 Satellites still had the more square styling of the Roadrunners, Chargers, GTXs, Super bees, and Cornets. Cool looking of course, but I really loved how they changed the bodies on the 1971 Satellites to look more like the Cudas in 1971, so I included it as an honorable mention.

1987 Buick GNX

Back in high school when I was still proudly rocking a mullet the car that me and all my gearhead friends were drooling over was the 1987 Buick Regal Grand National and the high end version, the GNX. There were only about 500 or so of the GNX built and they were true Muscle Cars in their day even though they had V6s. Supposedly the GNX was built to beat super cars like the Corvette, Ferrari, and Lamborgini. They would run a 12 second quarter mile, which in the 70’s and 80’s was super fast for a stock car. So, that is why I included it.

And there you have it. My second set of 1970 dream Muscle Cars plus a couple of others. I'm not counting on my crypto to suddenly make me rich enough to become a classic Muscle Car hoarder, but it is still fun to dream about it.

vintage
1

About the Creator

Steve B Howard

Steve Howard's self-published collection of short stories Satori in the Slip Stream, Something Gaijin This Way Comes, and others were released in 2018. His poetry collection Diet of a Piss Poor Poet was released in 2019.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.