Wheel logo

Drivers Education And Behind The Wheel Sessions In March

Do you have your class A, B, C, or D driver's license?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Drivers Education And Behind The Wheel Sessions In March
Photo by Andraz Lazic on Unsplash

My mother taught me how to drive when I was a preteen. She taught many of us how to drive at that age. She taught my siblings, cousins, and many other family members. She wasn't operating a school, but she was available to teach anyone interested in learning.

I started to drive on my own when I was twelve. My mother never drove again with me in the car, once I learned to drive.

When I was growing up, there were driver’s ed classes in the school. I don’t think that is a thing anymore. It was nice to have the experience of driving before the class.

When my daughter was a teen, my mother took her to Texas to see my brother, who was living there. Mom had her granddaughter drive through all the big cities.

If I would have known she was going to do that, I wouldn't have let my daughter go with her grandmother. My daughter is 47 now, so she survived that time, and she is a great driver.

I am participating in taking grandchildren and now a niece to the driver's education and behind-the-wheel drivers training this month. My 14-year-old grandson is in the driver's ed classroom, while my 16-year-old grandson and my 29-year-old niece are behind the wheel.

My niece will be getting her class A driver's license, while the boys will both be getting a D driver's license.

I drove an 18-wheeler when my husband was an over-the-road truck driver. I also got a class A license. I let that license lapse several years ago now. I was joking that at 68, I have trouble backing down a long driveway. It is hard to believe I used to drive a semi.

The grandson in the classroom will finish his training at the end of this week and he will have to wait until he is 15 to take behind the wheel, so I will get a break until then.

My 16-year-old grandson starts his behind-the-wheel training tomorrow. He doesn't have many lessons with the instructor. Much of his driving has been with me and his parents.

One day, early in his driving, I was in the backseat and his mother was in the passenger seat. Another driver pulled up and gave him the finger. Thankfully he wasn't paying attention as he was watching the road. His mother was so upset with that other driver.

Everyone needs to remember that you never know who the driver is that you are cussing out, or giving the finger to, as it may very well be a new driver.

Then my niece is driving an 18-wheeler as she hopes to drive a rig over the road. Her classroom was mostly online. She met her instructor yesterday. He allowed her to drive right away. She practiced mainly backing up in the truck that was attached to a large trailer.

By Shay on Unsplash

I thought that was fantastic, considering she has never even driven a stick shift! She was nervous before starting and when I picked her up after three hours, she was back to her confident self, even though she killed the engine. She explained that it was one of the rookiest things she could have done. We laughed and went on with the rest of her adventure.

She said it went well. Then she said her instructor did get a headache. I told her it must have been okay though as he ate his lunch while she was driving.

My niece has been in the food industry since age 14 and is ready for a new adventure. She told me that she is tired of cooking chicken, even though her customers will miss her. She hopes to see some country and is looking forward to this new adventure and her five-year plan!

Please remember that I am helping to put three loved ones out on the road soon!

feature
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.