Wheel logo

Little Red Riding Hood And The Big Blue Hulk

Last year we talked about whether it was time to give up riding our motorcycles. What do you think?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
3
John coming back from the outhouse we stopped at on a Sunday ride we were taking. Authors photo.

The hubby and I will probably talk again sometime in the next few years about continuing to ride motorcycles, and our children started the talk several years ago now and it continues. We have comments from others too, and we read some reviews.

Many people do not have the extra income involved in buying a motorcycle and providing the maintenance, the insurance, the extras that will go along with the purchase, until older. Then it doesn't seem like many years go by and it is time to consider giving it up, and it isn't about being bolder.

John, the hubby, has been riding a motorcycle since he was a young teen. I started then too, and it was considered cool and even mean. When pregnant with my second child, my mother gave me a huge lecture, saying that it was time to park that bike. I was riding a chopped, lime green BSA that I like. I had slid off the bike in some soft sand when seven months pregnant. The doctor said, "your baby is well cushioned and will be fine. It is only a short time until he is due, that saves him to, that line." And then the bike, there wasn't even a dent. I stopped riding and knew I would ride again, and I decided it would be when he turned 21.

He was 21 and I bought a bike, it was so much fun. First, it was a gently used Suzuki, just in case, there was a fall. It had been twenty-one years since I rode, after all. I had been on the back of motorcycles but had not ridden in many years. I did take the safety riders class and we practiced on small motorbikes and took the test on those same small bikes, with no fears. I recommend that to anyone thinking of riding a motorcycle.

Next, we each bought an 800 Volusia cycle. They were pretty bikes and had great storage and seats. We both thought of how we fell in love from across the room when we first saw our Volusia's, as they were treats. A Harley mechanic ran up to me all out of breath once at a gas station and said, "Why do you have a shield on that bike?" When I realized what he thought, I told him to take another look and take a hike. He thought the Volusia was a Harley and cool kids don't use a windshield. I knew after being hit with June bugs, I would always use a shield. It felt a lot like getting hit with a rock or a baseball, with the bugs up north.

John, the hubby, and his big blue hulk. Authors photo.

John told me that he liked to ride, he didn't like to fix, and that if I planned to buy a Harley with my Harley fund jar, then I wouldn't be riding with him from there forth. He convinced me after I began noticing the bikes on the side of the road were Harleys that were broken down. It has changed now, and he will even admit that with a frown. He would come home from work talking about the Harley riders who just got a new motor or transmission. John teased his son that bought a Harley, saying, "didn't I teach you anything?" Then he said, "I didn't even give you permission!"

That son suggested we consider a trike. My daughter suggested I look at getting training wheels for my bike. She said, "There are training wheels for motorcycles now, maybe you should look into that." It wasn't even worth a reply, the brat! Then my youngest said, "Mom, have you considered trading your bike in on a convertible?" It was his damn fault I didn't ride for twenty-one years, it is incontrovertible. I said, "No I have not considered that! I had a convertible before you were born and it is not the same thing!!"

That youngest son got my Volusia and chopped it all up so that it doesn't look like a Volusia anymore, I sing. And check out that pitiful seat!! No fenders, I repeat! Imagine the mud! The kid can be a dud! And no windshield, he isn't a dunce! He did ride it up to the BWCA once!

I was 68 in January, then John had a birthday on the first of March, and he turned 72. Sometimes age does matter too. And sometimes those people in their seventies and eighties can be doing better than those in their younger years. I have friends that are in better shape physically than me, and it brings tears.

The questions I will ask myself are:

1. Can I hold up my bike when I need to? Stop signs, getting on when starting a ride, anytime I have to sit there waiting for something too?

2. Can I get on and off yet without any trouble?

3. As long as I am not getting dizzy, or feeling faint, due to low blood sugar, medication, or seeing double?

4. Cancer treatments or a broken arm can get in the way and make the season shorter but does not get in the way long term.

5. Memory difficulties or spaciness or germs? Have I been tested for dementia/Alzheimer's and if I have to, can I jog? How about a yearly Medicare mini cog?

6. Do I remember to take Creator/God with me as I am riding down the road? What about when I run over a toad? (Okay, just kidding. A small bit of nonsense thrown in while sitting.)

Me with my Little Red. Authors photo.

motorsports
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.