Wheel logo

Dr Michael Estes | Racing on sand dunes

Hello amigos! Again I am Dr Michael Estes here, a practicing physician in Okemos, full-time husband, a loving father, and an offroad maniac

By Dr. Michael EstesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Hello amigos! Again I am Dr Michael Estes here, a practicing physician, full-time husband, a loving father, and an offroad maniac. Last time I read you guys the story of my friend and I restoring a motorboat in our leisure. This time I bring the only other thing than boat restoration, which drives me crazy, and that is off-roading. So whenever I get time off from being an Emergency Response Medicine Doctor and a general physician in different hospitals and medical institutions, I go out with friends on an off-roading trip in our truck. Last year some of my friends, including Alc and their kids, went to sand dunes for off-roading and some racing. I took my wife and our dog poochie with me in our old GMC red truck. Poochie really likes going out with us and often peeps out of the window for his "barking at trees"session.

Last year when we went to our destination, we booked a tent for my family under the name of Michael Estes. As soon we reached there, a mini sand storm started blasting us. Our truck quite a dusty hit, but it was back to cherry red after a few splash from water buckets kept in the store for us. Some of our friends came to the spot in their Jeep, a fine and a hunk of a 4/4. Many others towed their 4/4s and other AVTs with them, all were pretty excited for the race, and nobody wanted to lose. The kids were pretty excited about all this and were trying to sneak past their parent's watch to gaze at other vehicles. We set a camp first and started the fire. I brought some marshmallows along with me and made smores for poochie and dear wife. After resting for a while, we started our engines for a free run. I ran my truck on the sand dunes and roamed around the area for a quick stroll.

After that came the time to race. People started their engines, and all horsepower was raising my adrenaline to my head. My eyes were on the white mustang, its drive seemed experienced to me, and the car itself was a beast. Its engine's roar was so distinguishable and loud that I almost felt it to be unreal. Soon the overseer fired the starting gun, and we gased the pedals. I was riding my car at my best, I believe, but there were many others with much higher horsepower. Still, I managed to secure my position in the top 10 out of 40. I was aiming to be in the top 5 at the very least. I was ravishing on the dunes and overtaking cars one after another. That maneuver of mine made me reach to 7th position. The white mustang that I was eyeballing was just ahead of me in the 5th position. I shifted the high gear and kept racing my way to that car.

After a while, my car and that mustang were parallel, but he led by the length of his hood. Just as I thought that my truck is at its limits and can't go any faster, a steep downslope was up in the racing track next. That was my chance. I kept speeding down the slope. I knew it was dangerous, but I had to win. The Mustang driver seemed to cut on the speed when downhill, and as a result, before the slope ended, I was in the 5th position, and the mustang was a reflection on my side mirror. Only 3 miles were left to finish the race. The other racers were too good at what they were doing. Catching up to them seemed impossible to me. But, out of the blue, a huge dust cloud hit the track, and we all had to halt our vehicles, which lasted for an hour and canceled the race. I was disappointed, but at least I can sleep knowing that I broke my personal target.

Well, that's all for today! Michael Estes is signing out.

racing
1

About the Creator

Dr. Michael Estes

Dr Michael Estes, a Lansing area doctor, and owner/CEO of Intessa Medical Marijuana Clinic in Okemos. Dr Michael Estes has 33 years of experience in his field of expertise and currently working as emergency department physician.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.