Wander logo

Why [the hell] Did I Move to ATL?

What Did I Get Myself Into?

By Marq McKinzeePublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
My [new] City

So I recently moved to Atlanta.

I would love to say that it’s been mash up of fun and excitement since I’ve been here, but that would be me stretching the truth. Don’t get me wrong, it has been fun, and I have had some exciting moments since I’ve been here, but it ain’t been all roses and sunshine. I’ve had some real fucked up shit happen in the four months I’ve been here, but honestly, I’m not here to talk about that – at least not right now.

I keep getting people who ask me “why would you move to ATL?” The question usually comes with a turned up nose and a you-gotta-be-kidding-me look when I tell them that I moved here from New York city. Because why would anyone wanna move from a city like NYC to a place like ATL? Satire. Well, if you’re an ATLien – or at least been here a few years – you know that we Yankees have been making our way down to the Peach State for years, so for y’all, this is nothing new. But still the question I’ve routinely gotten since I’ve been here: why would you move from NYC to ATL?

So that’s what brings me here.

I figure, if I’m gonna share my story, I may as well share it with as many people as I can. Perhaps my story can inspire someone to take that leap of faith, like I did. Maybe I can help solidify someone’s decision to relocate to ATL [or wherever]. Maybe I’ll turn you off from the idea of moving to ATL [or anywhere else for that matter] completely. Whatever your take away is from this, the point for me is that I hope it inspires you to do something. Whatever that something is-is completely up to you.

So without further ado…

WHY [the hell] Did I Move to ATL?

There are several reasons I made the decision to move to ATL. To be clear, the following is neither an exhausted list of reasons, nor is it in any particular order. These are just some [of the many] reasons I moved to ATL. So first. I’m not sure if you can tell by my avatar, but I’m black. No, I won’t turn this into some digital social justice platform. I may speak on social issues from time to time, but from my perspective, right is right, wrong is wrong. The End.

Nonetheless, I am, and ATL is a very black city. Understand that when I say “ATL is a very black city,” what I mean is culture wise. ATL is a city the has a very strong cultural diversity, diversity that I never knew existed here until I moved. There are so many different nationalities, ethnicities, races, people. Be that as it may, as much as there’s cultural diversity, there’s also a strong appreciation for black culture. If when I say “black culture” your immediate thought is black as in Afric[k]an, I appreciate you for that. And while yes, I am referring to Motherland culture as well, I’m talking about the culture many older southerners [old school ATLiens] would call “down home.” To make it a little more plain for those of you who may still be a little confused: waving at a person you’re driving by simply because that person is there, and then that person waving back at you because [they would’ve anyway] you’re there is, in my opinion culture. Culture is simply an accepted way of doing things, and in [the south] ATL, waving at a person simply because is the way things are done. Culture. Now I would hope that none of you reading this believe I moved to ATL because people wave at each other. I think we can all agree that would be pretty asinine. So in that regard, it’s not about the waving, it’s about WHY people wave at each other. It’s the laid back lifestyle that comes along with the normalcy of waving at strangers. It’s the uncomplicated way people live. It’s the “if a man don’t work, he don’t eat” mentality that most people [I’ve come in contact with] have here. It’s the way people spend whole days just sitting on their porch watching people pass by. It’s simply the culture here.

Second.

Again, I’m black. I’m young and black. If I’ve learned nothing else, I’ve learned that being young, black, and having the drive to run your own business [especially if it’s something arts and/or media related], ATL is the place you wanna be. ATL has become what many refer to as “Black Hollywood.” And why not? ATL is the home of some of the most talented artists of our day, the Atlanta seasons are probably the highest grossing and most widely watched of the Real Housewives series, Tyler Perry has set his production studios in East Point, GA [a city just outside of ATL but close enough to still be considered ATL, and a thing you only find out when you live in ATL] which has brought hundreds of media and arts based jobs here. It’s little wonder then – at least to me – why ATL has been dubbed ‘Hollywood for black folks.’

As someone who’s truly looking to write, produce, and possibly direct, and has some [amazing] ideas, I can’t think of a better place for a person like myself to be. To me, it only makes sense that I be here.

Third.

I’m a foodie, and I’m partial to what we call soul food. If you can’t get anything else in ATL, you can get yourself some soul food. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had soul food before, I grew up on it with my Grandmother who’s from Alabama. Trust me, I’m no stranger to fried chicken, collard greens, mac n cheese, Johnny cakes, black eyed peas, neck bones, and all the all the other deliciousness that historically comes out of a black grandma’s kitchen. But it’s something different about soul food from the home of soul food.

Be clear, I don’t mean that the home of soul food is ATL specifically, I mean that the south is the home of soul food. And when you have soul food from out here, it’s a different experience entirely. The only way for you to truly understand that is to experience what I have for yourself.

Ok so that’s it. I’m gonna stop there because I feel like it. Like I said, this wasn’t an exhausted list of reasons, just some of the reasons I moved to ATL. There are plenty more that I can share with you at a later time, but for now, I hope you can understand why these three are important, to me.

Aiight, I’m gone.

Peace.

Oh, btw, if you if you didn’t get the “ATLien” reference, Idk if we can be friends.

culture
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.