Wander logo

When You Visit This Country, Don’t Say A Word

Some say this place is an introvert's dream...

By Rick MartinezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Adrian Dascal on Unsplash

“You can escape competition through authenticity when you realize that no one can compete with you on being you.” — Naval Ravikant

Authenticity, trustworthiness, transparency, and realness. These are just a few of the new-age pop words to self describe how people are. Or at least what they’re striving to become.

Buzzwords.

And the only reason they’re buzzwords is that many have lost touch with what they really mean. Many folks, especially marketers and influencers, are grabbing onto these like Cruella de Vil does dalmatians.

Out of personal gain and salvation.

Put another way when you know someone at their core is puttin’ on a façade, you know someone is trying to bamboozle you.

Which brings me to Finland, and the opening quote.

I was reading this article about marketing and Finland…I know…it’s like sardines and jelly, but stick with me here. It’s gonna be scrumptious.

While the topics may seem random, the “6 degrees of Kevin Bacon” effect holds more truth than ever.

You see, my current situation finds me living in Norway. Since I’m not only a history nerd, I also love entrepreneurship and mindset orientation, so when I read a quickie headline about the quietest country on earth, I was intrigued.

To say the least.

The bigger thing-a-ma-jig to note is I’m also a bonafide introvert.

Meanwhile…

Finland.

It is about an L.A. traffic jam away from the closest Finnish town where I’m currently living. Meaning by the time it took you to get home from work in L.A. (about 2 hours to get 10 miles), I could be across the border.

In silence.

Blessed silence.

So I did some reading and research. Like any other tourist landing page or chamber of commerce website, I was, of course, expecting a lot of the usual. You know, stuff about Finnish nightlife, Finnish cuisine, Finnish historical sites, ticket prices to ride the Finnish boat (there’s always a boat ride). All the stuff where one could simply remove the word “Finnish” and insert any…ANY…country's name.

Feel me?

But I didn’t.

Not at all.

In fact, I was blown away by what felt like the utter lack of “buzz” and a total abundance of warmth. I mean it when I say that I actually felt a warm wave pass through me, and I distinctly remember myself smiling out loud.

One of the first things I noted was a site called “Rent A Finn.” As warped a mind I may have, I don’t think I coulda ever made this up, that’s why I linked it for ya. As soon as you click, you smile. Real big.

The more I surfed, the happier I became and whod’a EVER thought they’d have this! A happiness guide! And no, in case you’re scrolling and not clicking, it’s NOT a downloadable PDF…it’s a list of people.

Like real Finnish people whose only goal is to show you the beauty of their country and how to “find your calm.”

“Being able to stand in the middle of a copse of trees, and hear the wind and hear the lake, you become aware of so many small things…it’s very peaceful, and it’s very personal.” Marie Criddle, tourist in Finland.

Have you ever “heard” a lake before?

Ok, so what’s the moral of the story you may be wondering.

The truth is there are several.

Truth is I initially meant for this to be a piece about what it truly means to be you and the sheer power in that, and what I found, as I thought and wrote, is there’s more.

Lots more.

This isn’t just about authenticity.

It’s also about marketing.

I mean, if an entire country can accomplish this feeling on my screen, imagine what you can do in real life…

It’s also about advertising.

The whole happiness guide really, like REALLY grabs you, and the simple catchphrase, “find your calm” actually lends to, Uhm, feeling calm. (insert wind chime sound here).

It’s also about humanity.

Yeah. Mostly that. Suddenly all the current woes of the world and shitty news disappeared, if only for a moment. As I read and absorbed more about this beautiful country, I was reminded that we are all human, and we can each do our part, to bind us all.

Consider all of what you’re read and felt. One doesn’t need to be a copywriter, funnel expert, marketer, or brand developer to find value in these words.

Nah.

You just have to actually be a human who gives a damn.

Thank you for the gift of your attention.

Now go find your calm.

Where we’re going, we don’t need roads,

europe
Like

About the Creator

Rick Martinez

I help CEOs & entrepreneurs write & publish books that give them authority & legacy | Bestselling author | Former CEO turned ghostwriter |

California born, Texas raised.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.