Wander logo

What If I Travelled Alone?

Musings of a life on my own...

By Joe HarrisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
What If I Travelled Alone?
Photo by Daniel Jensen on Unsplash

Many a time I've sat and wondered about what my life would be like if I was single. Not in the sense of wanting to be, but how things would be different had I not worked on and embraced the relationship I've spent the past 3 amazing years in.

Nervously independent...

I've always been a fairly independent person, pretty lazy, yes, but when it comes to it I've been alright at keeping myself alive and functioning to a decent capacity. However, whether I'm single or not, I've always dealt with anxiety, making certain aspects of my life rather tricky (like asking people for help or leaving the house on my own).

In spite of this, I somehow manage to find time by myself weirdly comforting; I enjoy a good walk on my own, shopping journeys are much quicker and relaxing when its just myself, and I'm always going on unencumbered adventures from time to time.

Past Adventures...

Through my constant need to explore, as I said above, I'll go on a good wander (whether this is around my own estate or into town). However, there has been the odd occasion where I've gone slightly further.

  • London: A lot of my travels involve visiting friends or for work, and many of these are trips to the big city. Yet, there was one time a couple years back where I decided that I wanted to go on my own, for no other reason than to explore London on my own. Why did I do this? I was pretty bored that day, and I wanted to do something spontaneous.
  • Plymouth: An odd choice, some would say, but I used to live in Plymouth for a short stint (a very spontaneous choice after uni). Since then I have found myself returning, mainly to see friends, but also just to relax by the sea, relive my life there, and to explore the areas I didn't get a chance to last time.

What would my ideal solo adventure be?

This brings me to the main point of the article, where would I go on my own? Simple, New York. There has been no doubt in my mind that I need to visit the Big Apple at some point in my life, and there has been the odd occasion where I wondered if it would be easier going on my own. That way I can do all the things that I want to do and enjoy without being tied to someone else's plans.

A fantasy of mine is being able to visit New York as part of a huge book deal I establish. In this dream I'm a bestselling author (finally) and visiting the city as part of a publishing contract, having to tour the city for my latest book. While I'm there I might as well enjoy the sites. I'd go all tourist at first; visiting the Empire State Building, Grand Central, Central Park, the Statue of Liberty, and Times Square. Is it a cliche? Yes. Do I care? No, I want to see these famous places for myself.

By Robert Bye on Unsplash

Once that is out the way I would take to the streets, getting myself well and truly lost. That way I'll be able to experience the city in a much different way. Maybe I'd come across a hidden gem for some of the best food the city has to offer, or an unknown bookshop where I could spend hours browsing the shelves for a new book. Of course, I would have to keep my phone charged to get me back to wherever I'm staying, but I'd want to explore for myself, rather than be guided by the "must sees..."

I'm very much aware this trip sounds super expensive, you would be correct, it would be extortionate. But remember, its a dream, more importantly, my dream, so I have a lot more (a lot more!) money than I currently do.

One day...

One day I will visit New York, I will see the sites and explore the city. I just don't think I'd do it on my own. As much as I love going on a lone wonder, for me, it never beats being able to experience something as amazing as New York with someone by my side. To be able to jointly embrace this new culture, share different foods with someone else to comment on. More importantly, someone to keep me sane when I'm blown away by the sheer awe of this large new place.

Its why I know I've found the one, I'd never want to go on this sort of adventure without him. All I'd ever think was "he'd love this", a solo trip is a great experience, but some experiences just need to be shared.

solo travel
Like

About the Creator

Joe Harris

A lover of writing with a tonne of thoughts and opinions stuck in his head. Lets see what comes out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.