Wander logo

What I Found On My Mini Vacation

Nature is the best artist. Nature does not imitate

By Annelise Lords Published about a month ago 3 min read
Image by Annelise Lords

While COVID-19 reigns, the movement for our world and its inhabitants were restricted. No one traveled for vacation because of fear. Fear of getting infected with a virus with no known cure. In some countries, the elderly and other humans with various health issues became house rats.

Fear controlled hearts, minds, souls, pockets, wallets, bank accounts, and everything else that would encourage movement and life.

As more and more humans got infected, and more people started dying, everything in our world stopped. Mental health and anxiety issues increased worldwide as hopelessness began to plague every nation. Weddings were put off, church services had to go online, and so did non-life-threatening doctor visits and follow-ups. Schools had to go online denying children social in-person interaction with their classmates and friends. Family visits declined, and many elderly were left alone.

The internet became the major source of communication between family, friends, businesses, churches, etc. As many countries closed their borders and traveling was restricted.

People knee-deep in crisis gave up as COVID-19 kept stealing lives from us.

Living in a super hot country with poor outgoing dramatic people, who must struggle and fight life daily, Jamaicans did not allow COVID-19 restrictions to deter their movement or life.

Watching the news hurts my heart, mind, and soul, so pain shoved me out of my home. I go on many walks to destress from the pain our world keeps sharing. I see flowers growing out of concrete.

Image by Annelise Lords

They call out to me.

Image by Annelise Lords

I find it amazing. How did they survive in such a difficult environment with limited resources and still look healthy?

Image by Annelise Lords

If they can survive without hope, so can I despite the chaos our world shares.

Plants growing out of rocks. Isn't that amazing? This is the symbol of strength and hope for me as my mood improves.

Image by Annelise Lords

Looking at these plants, my mood improved as hope slowly seeped into my veins, and removed the stress. I call my walks mini-vacations. And I take one every chance I get snapping away with my Samsung A42 cellphone.

Look at this beautiful plant, living, growing and surviving out of concrete and rocks. If they can do it, with their limited resources, so can I with my knowledge and understanding of life and living.

Image by Annelise Lords

Plants need water to survive. Humans don't water these plants, the rain does. They are fed only when it rains. We have been experiencing water woes for a few years. So, water has become a scarce commodity.

Humans can go without food longer than they can go without water. Water is life and these beautiful plants must await the rain to be fed. They are not aware of it, yet they give their best to us. This plant below is call Cold Bush or Rice and Peas. It's good for getting mucus or cold out of your body and is drank for tea in Jamaica.

Image by Annelise Lords

I also take a mini vacation to watch the sunrise. I call it a Sunrise for hope. Or #Asunrise4hope. Economies, farmers, tourism, and many businesses worldwide rely on the sun to show up daily to increase their income and profits. The sun rising daily helps to keep depression away.

Image by Annelise Lords

Past studies have proposed that some links exist between sunlight and mental health;

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC10277019/

Image by Annelise Lords

Did you know that no two sunrises are the same no matter where in the world you are?

Image by Annelise Lords Sunrise in Jamaica

I also take a mini vacation to watch the sunset. I call it a sunset of promises. Or #Asunset4apromise. As the sun sets, it vows to be back tomorrow with more hope to share with our world.

Image by Annelise Lords. Sunset in Jamaica

No two sunsets are the same either and that alerts me that Nature is the best artist. Nature does not imitate.

Sunset in Jamaica. Image by Annelise Lords

COVID-19 is no longer a threat, but I still take my mini vacations to destress, while enjoying nature and never leave my camera/phone.

Image by Annelise Lords. Sunset in Jamaica.

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoyed it.

travel advicephotographyfeaturecaribbeanactivities

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Annelise Lords Written by Annelise Lords

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.