Wander logo

Washington

Rain

By maryPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Blaine,Washington

The blue of the ocean the waves hitting the shore. Washington state is amazing and I miss taking photos. The beaches that were rocky and dark sand. Watching the wildlife on the beach in the winter and hearing the gulls. The kelp and seaweed in the sand and the driftwood. Walking with my two pugs and watching the em dance to avoid the waves but sniffing everything. The beauty of the outdoors and the peace of no one else being present. Finding old wooden boats sitting in the sand. The beautiful evergreens so close to beach. The contrast of colors against they gray Misty sky. The simple beauty of a world that seems shrouded in secrets. These sights and smells have always filled me with wonder. The sharp cold and smell of impending rain and my walking companions with their little prancing steps. The joy of walking my two older pugs rain or shine kept me sane. My dogs have been my life line and have kept me happy when I had no one else to take care of.

I love the smell of rain. Growing up a military brat I learned to enjoy every place that I have lived for is to find the unique beauty of that location. I suppose my way of connecting to a space is by connecting to the outdoors. We used to go camping a lot as kids and go on drives in the country to explore.

There’s nothing quite like it. It comforts me the smell and even the sound. I know that for some rain depresses them but for me it’s a comfort. The water no matter which form it takes fascinates me so it shouldn’t be a surprise that rain holds a special place in my heart and mind. I suppose that might be why the Pacific Northwest immediately felt like home to me. I remember driving through the Cascades the first time and the sights as well as the smells. The trees and the green it was breathtaking. I have lived a lot of places but none have given me that feeling of this a place I could call home. Living near Bellingham, Washington was an amazing experience. I would make myself walk in the rain with my rain coat on. Usually I had two poor pug dogs in tow.

I miss seeing the orchards off the roadside and the Berry picking. The gentle moss the green grass and the ivy. The amazing flowers that would grow in area and ferns. I love the talks pines and the different shades of green. It’s spectacular in the summer. The pea soup fog so thick it was more like a blanket covering the world and making it mysterious. The fog off the coast is different from the fog inland. The density of it and the mysterious beauty. The same with the gentle Misty and the rain. So soft and continuous. It’s not like the hard rain storms while violent and beautiful it’s comforting. Colorado rain storms sometimes involve hail and I’ve made the mistake of walking in them. Hail does not feel good on the head. I’ll take the mist and soft rain. Maybe that’s why I don’t walk in the rain in Colorado.

I miss Washington state and some day I will go back. It was the perfect combination of mountains and ocean. I love the ocean and I know I would miss the mountains after living in Colorado for so long. I like to hike mountain trails but also like to walk along the beach. It’s the simple pleasures of being outside and enjoying the outdoors in all of its forms. I hope to start taking photos again.

nature
1

About the Creator

mary

I’m an artist, photographer, and writer. I’m look forward to being able to express my creativity again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.