Wander logo

Wandering Through Japan - Fuji

Bonus Letter 1

By David HeymanPublished 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
A View of Mt Fuji - taken and edited by D.Heyman

Welcome to the first digital bonus from Wandering through Japan. Since this is a beginning, it seemed appropriate to start with my own in this unique country.

I first came here nearly five years ago. However, it most certainly doesn't feel that way, often flicking between the sensation of being mere months and an eternity. While, like the majority of people, my first two weeks were spent in Tokyo. I did a little sightseeing before commencing upon the training session for my first job as an English teacher. After that, I was moved to Fuji in the Shizuoka prefecture for work and given my first apartment. Lesson 1 - when you hear someone talk about having a mansion in Japan, they are more often than not talking about a small box of an apartment.

I was the only person in my entire training group of 10 who wasn't placed in a big city, and honestly, I am grateful for that. Aside from the simple locational advantages of being basically in the middle of the country - allowing for easy travel by bullet train or plane to anywhere else, it is also one of the most effortlessly beautiful places I have ever been to.

There are certainly more beautiful places, even just in Japan, but these take serious work to maintain and have an army of staff rebuilding and cleaning all year round. Fuji, on the other hand, holds some wonderful combination of history and nature in its soul and displays it in nearly everything around me. The very first thing that struck me was the number of streams and rivers running through the city. Even in other cities close to the mountain ranges of Shizuoka, you don't really find this style of water management outside of Fuji. It is both relaxing and terrifying; since I have seen at least one car turn straight into one of these streams, though as a pedestrian it's just really nice to be able to walk through the city and hear the gentle bubbling of the water as it flows past you. It has also led to a few chance encounters with what can only be referred to as 'street crabs' - literally small crabs that have made their homes or been washed along the waterways of Fuji and are now 'exploring' the area.

It is my impression that the city mostly exists in its current form because of the paper industries. These came to Fuji thanks to the quality of the water and central location (see, I knew it was good!) which made for ease of delivery. While large areas of the city were built upon reclaimed land, instead of redirecting the water into pipes and concreting over it, it feels as though Fuji has grown around where the water wants to go. The result; we have this beautiful capillary style water network that runs through the heart of the city and eventually into the ocean nearby.

Of course, it would be impossible to talk about the beauty of Fuji and not mention the gigantic volcano of the same name looming off in the distance. It is a dominating feature of the landscape, and, despite being actually quite far away, its size makes it appear deceptively nearby. I am sure many a tourist has attempted to walk there, only to find themselves lost in the middle of nowhere by the end of the day. Despite the low key threat of molten rock being hurled towards me and the city, it is beautiful. Perhaps one of the most iconic natural monuments in Japan, if not the world, it is often called the soul of Japan. It is easy to see why; the way it changes with the seasons is incredibly reflective of key parts of Japanese culture, especially in their art and earlier philosophy.

While it may be lacking in certain aspects of facilities and everyday convenience when compared to the metropolis of Tokyo, Fuji does have a reasonably vibrant arts and music community. Every year dozens of events and performances take place in the Rose Theater, as well as in local bars a 'live houses' - typically the Japanese equivalent of a small bar with a stage often found in university towns back home.

Fuji has been very good to me - I have created a new life here, made many new friends, met and married my wife here, and now, I am starting a whole new adventure from here as I start (formally) wondering through Japan. I hope you will join me!

asia
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.