Wander logo

Ubuntu limited

The African way of life taken away.

By Noah MkonoPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like
MyMy the place of African connection

I remember arriving at Johannesburg OR Tambo International Airport the previous day before this photograph was taken, immediately I sensed that this Covid19 was a nightmare. South Africa, as an economic hub in Sub-Saharan region was already hit, and would be soon feel the impact hard. Social distancing was already implemented by the airport authorities. When I queued to get my passport to be stamped at the immigration I stood a distant away from the desk, prior I had already gone through temperature check up for high fever and mandatory being asked to sanitize my hands. I continued to collect my luggage at the carousel and amazingly the bags were ready for collection without waiting time at all. On my way out I stopped for a few minutes at the bathroom. When I came out there was no one in the passage hall leading to the Customs desks. I hastily rushed out hoping to catch up with the handful of people that I was on board with on the rather massive Boeing 737 flight from Blantyre, Malawi. At the Customs the officers on duty just directed me to the way out without the usual long scrutinizing process of checking your declaration form and goods. It’s when I got out of airport entrance foyer I saw an antire different atmosphere from what I’d left behind a few weeks ago. The usual almost pandemonium environment associated with this place was completely nonexistent. Taxi drivers approached me every single minute to offer a lift which at that time I was not interested in. I needed to insert my local SIM card, get Talktime and call a few friends first because I had not decided yet where I’d spend the night and when I’d leave for Cape Town.

Later on I set down with my mobile phone now fully operational and I began finding a flight first. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I looked at the offers. Flights were as low as R400 even though it was the weekend so I did not hesitate, I picked up one that would leave in the evening on the morrow, which was Saturday, giving myself a day’s allowance to hang around Joburg. I called Thamie my old friend from Port Elizabeth who was unfortunately busy at work but she directed to Tebza her husband, like wise he couldn’t even pick up the call because he was trapped in a meeting at his own work as well I later learned. Next it was Esther who she was at work also and she’d only be available just like everyone had said, on Saturday. So lastly I decided to call Josiah who gave me his work address and I took an Uber there. I waited until he finished work and we went home in Kempton Park where I spent the night. Actually this was the best place to be. It was a strategic place which was only ten mins away from the airport, convenient for me when I leave for my ten o’clock flight.

Saturday morning, March 21 Thamie and Tebza called. They asked me to prepare within an hour, they would be on their way from Springs to pick me up and would like to show me Maboneng, a fast developing trendy area in downtown Johannesburg. I also checked on Esther and she agreed to meet us in town later as well. A little over an hour, the Nxumalo couple (Thamie and Tebza) arrived on the location I’d sent them and off we drove into Central Business District. What a reunion. It’s been a few years since I last them. On the way, it very evident, that the roads were quieter than usual. We had a little discussion about the Coronavirus which was spreading like veld fire yet none of us had a clear knowledge of what this thing really was. Soon we arrived and we parked outside an apartment which Vusi, Thamie’s brother lived but he wouldn’t be found. Right next to the apartments there was a public outdoor eatery where several ladies cooked pap (maize meal) and braaied (barbecue) a variety of meats to go along with. This was the famous MyMy place. We decided that we would have our lunch there.

While Thamie was busy trying to locate her brother, a party animal that went out partying last night and was not back until that afternoon. She got assistance from the same Vusi’s flat mate and friend whilst me and Thebza chilled in the car whilst we tracked down Esther who was using public transport coming to us from the southern side of Johannesburg. Just around lunch she arrived and we met her few blocks from where we were, Thamie gave up on her brother who she learned had gone partying the previous night and was probably still extending the his party. By this time our stomachs were groaning with hunger. It was time to refill, refuel and recharge.

We walked into the neatly fenced area. Chairs and table well set outside each braai stand. The ladies selling had assistances who would canvas for customers in an orderly and respectful way. For us it was the first and we were just thrilled to be there and what we only cared about was the vibe and finding a place that would comfortably host the now five of us including Vusi’s friend. He was a well known regular customer there so we gave him the mandate to place the order on our behalf. He and Thamie had given up on finding Vusi.

We located a spot and I order went through. For the first time since arriving yesterday I felt the normal atmosphere of South Africa. Loud music, laughter, cheering and drinks everywhere. Just like us, every table was occupied by a group that had some form common interests. As our pap and meat, with a fresh salad side and chill sauce was served we were finding our common ground as a group. Esther was a young lady I met a few years ago when I visited my aunt here in Johannesburg and we decided to hang out if ever I was around again. Besides being Thamie’s husband I worked with Thebza in a small town of Queenstown in the Eastern Cape when both of us were serving voluntary services several years ago when we we still young men. It’s was then when the two met. And the fifth guy, after ordering our meal, a great favor he offered, giving us the privilege of being served a huge portion, he didn’t stay long.

Though left by ourselves we really enjoyed the vibe. The atmosphere was busting with life. South African society has the friendliest attitude when at locations like these. Without necessarily knowing each other there are moments we just share smiles and laughter together and the salt and pepper shakers moveing from one table to the other resembling the great spirit of Ubuntu. Like true Africans, having washed our hands we ate from the same plates using our hands, no forks no knives except for one that we used to cut the huge steak pieces into small easy to pick ones. As we indulged on the juicy lamb chops and some liver, we went back into time. Then we touched on the present and had a look into the future. Amongst the four of us it English was most common language but once in a while I spoke ChiChewa with Esther, iSiXhosa with Thamie and she for many instances communicated in Tswana with Thebza.

Later after a long stay in MyMy place we headed off to Maboneng. We walked around the area, just looking at the developments and window shopping. We then found a spot outside a takeaway shop were we bought ourselves soft drinks and we went on chatting for another hour before we finally took Esther to the taxis that would take her back home. The Nxumalos drove me back to Josiah’s place and they said their goodbyes. Just around seven o’clock that evening I left for the airport on an Uber.

That same night it was announced that the President would address the nation on the 23rd. When he did on the Tuesday night, the inevitable finally came upon us; Lockdown was instituted beginning the 26th March. Things would never be the same again in next 70 days and more that following... Our Ubuntu was drastically limited to almost nothing as people stayed home.

culture
Like

About the Creator

Noah Mkono

I’m a Malawian citizen born in Zimbabwe currently living in South Africa. I have been working as an Uber driver for four and only this year I started sharing some of my Uber experiences which I realized people loved reading about

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.