Wander logo

Tulum, Mexico

“Travel far enough, you meet yourself.”― David Mitchell, Cloud Atlas

By teisha lesheaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3
Photo From Unsplash Joanna Szumska @yahha

Although my astrological sign is an earth sign, I've always gravitated to the calmness of the water. During this quarantine, I've realized that I've been taking advantage of the California weather and beaches. There is nothing like watching the sunset after a long day of work, feeling the coolness come off the water, brushing across your face or your feet being submerged deep in the sand. It can be a place to bring clarity to your problems or a place to forget your questions I've noticed being near water gives me a chance to bring calm to my anxiety and meditate on the next phases of my life. I chose Tulum, Mexico, as my destination of choice. Tulum provides the perfect mixture of water, sand, and green landscape that provides the perfect escapism.

Before the "lockdown" started, I promised myself that I would take a much-needed solo vacation. After joining Black Women Travel on Facebook, I informed of this lovely place. The only destination that I became aware of in Cancun. I'm a woman in her thirties, and I couldn't imagine going to Cancun and being surrounded by college students. Tulum represents the opposite of that. It shows history and culture that I would be interested in exploring. After Googling images of Tulum for three hours, it dawned on me that it resembles a Caribbean island. Tulum has a plethora of hidden treasures that would leave everlasting memories.

Photo by Helen Ngoc @helenngoc via Unsplash. Artist of statue South African artist Daniel Popper, known for his massive figurative sculptures, has constructed a new artwork as part of an arts and culture festival in Tulum, Mexico. The towering installation is titled Ven a la Luz (come into the light), and is comprised of wood and rope formed into a female figure

I would utilize this time as my spiritual retreat. My goal would be to rediscover my relationship with nature. My activities would include relaxing by the water, getting in the water, some yoga/meditation, site seeing, hiking, and bike riding. The thought of the sun rays radiating off of my caramel brown skin would provide a different glow. I would want to soak up the sun and lay under a big tree to enjoy the shade. Site seeing would allow me to discover history and culture. I would want a tour of the Mayan Ruins. I am a lover of architecture, so that will allow me to pull out my outdated cell phone to take as many pictures as possible, capturing a dull moment to create a long-lasting memory.

Photo via Unsplash by Gleren Meneghin @glerenmeneghin

Photo via Unsplash photographer by Jakob Owens @jakiowens1

Mayan Ruins. Photo via Unsplash Photo by Mayan Ruins Max Bohme @m_a_x_b

After reading the prompt for this challenge, my introverted side took over and immediately stated that I would want to do this on my own. Still, after further consideration, I couldn't make this trip without my baby sister. From birth, she has always been labeled my shadow. Its thirteen years between us, but her spirit is of a thirty-year-old. We know how to have a good time. If it's laying out on the beach or indoors enjoying the AC, we can turn the idlest time into the most enjoyable time. Her neon-colored bathing suit and my ocean blue bathing suit with a cover-up our trip would be entertaining. She brings out the goofy in me, and I would bring out the giggles in her. A sister vacation wouldn't be complete if I, the oldest, didn't fit the bill.

Photo via Unsplash photo by Alex Azabache @alaxazabache

I've lived in Southern California all of my life. I would consider myself a connoisseur of Mexican cuisine. One of the many highlights of this trip will be to indulge in is food. I love anything wrapped in a flour tortilla: the spices, the smokiness of the meat, the limes, sour cream, and pico de gallo. Eating shrimp, fish, chicken, and carne asada warm my soul and puts a smile on my face. If the calories weren't so high, I could eat it every day. The marriage of flavors always satisfies my taste buds. The chunky salsa slightly cools your dish but adds spice to the tip of your tongue. All meals are worthy of an Instagram post.

Photo via Unsplash photographer by Tai's Captures @taiscaptures

Photo via Unsplash and photo by Tai's Captures @taiscaptures

Photo via Unsplash photograph by Etienne Delorieux @etiennedelorieux "el pulpo" meaning "The Octopus"

I've never visited this place, but I'm confident that it would be one to remember and a destination that I would visit annually.

If you enjoy my stories, leave me a tip, or even share my work on social media! Any support is appreciated

solo travel
3

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.