Wander logo

Tulip Town

Adventures With My Corgi Morty

By Kayla LindleyPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2023
66
My Pembroke-Welsh Corgi Morty- Tulip Town 2023

I challenged myself upon arriving to Washington State that every week I was going to do something. Whether that being big or small, I just did not want to stay home. After working with my therapist, we developed healthy coping mechanisms for helping me manage my mental health issues, because staying at home and sleeping in bed all day is not an option.

My dog Morty is a huge part of that ability to motivate me and keep going every day. He is my ESA (Emotional Support Animal) and I got him back in 2019. Since then Morty has been my ride or die buddy. He's traveled across the country 3 times with me, and more importantly he keeps me calm. So you will notice in a lot of the upcoming articles I write you will see him featured multiple times. Because wherever I go he goes. We are a duo.

He also has been a support system to my kids who both are on the autism spectrum. My youngest being completely non verbal and the other being high functioning. So truly he's been therapeutic to all of us, and he pretty much goes everywhere with me if he can. He has an wandering spirit that's seen the Grand Canyon, California, Utah, Idaho, Wyoming, Chicago, and now Washington. Today's adventure took us to Tulip Town in Mount Vernon, WA!

Tulip Town! Credit: Kayla Lindley

This place is a seasonal family farm where the tulips are in full bloom and attract thousands of people every year to Washington state! This place is perfect to get those perfect Instagram pictures or you just want to get a nice family photo of your kids for once. They also have photography passes where you can spend the entire day photographing these beautiful flowers or again if you are an aspiring photographer looking to do family mini photoshoots this is a great way to build up that portfolio.

Tulip Town! Credit: Kayla Lindley

There's tons of flowers everywhere! They have tons of colors, and even have tractor rides that you can go on and see the property which is really nice. Lots and lots of photo opportunities. There's even a barn onsite with some cute little shops and food inside! And yes- Washington is known for it's micro breweries all over. Here it was no different there was multiple different beers on tap. They also had multiple little photo prompt areas that are even hand painted, or a gas wall with fresh tulips in it as well. Very Instgrammable spots in my opinion for people of all ages.

Tulip Town! Credit: Kayla Lindley

And the best part? They allow dogs! There's a couple of farms that are apart of this festival and some don't allow dogs! So this one does and I got a ton of cute pictures of Morty and this other dog I was dog sitting! I will say it does get windy so bring a light jacket, and wear close toed shoes if you decide to go because there is a lot of dirt. So in a nut shell if it rains it'll be muddy!

Morty at Tulip Town! Credit: Kayla Lindley

So if you want something fun to do with the family next year in April, I highly recommend checking out the Tulip Festival in Mount Vernon, WA. It's super pretty and there's tons of flowers every where. It's definitely a family affair. I also would recommend buying your tickets online because they are $2 cheaper.

For more insight on content like this, or you love short stories please consider subscribing to my page! Leave a like, and let me know what you loved or didn't love- feed back is really important to help me grow!

-Kayla

featurephotographyfamily travel
66

About the Creator

Kayla Lindley

Kayla is a neuro-spicy single mom, and writing is her therapy. When she isn't writing, Kayla is out collecting crystals, growing her sticker collection, and hiking in the mountains of Northern Washington with her Corgi Morty.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Guay - Dispatches From the Guay Life!!about a month ago

    Whoa love this suggestion, Kayla. I have to confess, I haven't done enough exploring of Washington State apart from the major cities. I need to remedy that, and these pictures are certainly tempting me.

  • hayaadnan11 months ago

    https://vocal.media/01/why-sinus-is-so-common-in-pakistan-s914p0hph read mine too if you like :)

  • hayaadnan11 months ago

    Beautifully written 💖🌸

  • Such a beautiful place to be! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Congratulations on the Top Story and thanks for pointing this one out! The Oregon Garden is another great stop in that part of the country and is also dog-friendly. Morty is awesome!

  • James Evans12 months ago

    Beautiful flowers

  • I love this piece 🥰

  • Brianna Smith12 months ago

    I love this and I love all of the visual aids!

  • Obiageli Nwankwo12 months ago

    Love your intro🤗

  • Farhan Mirza 12 months ago

    kayla lindley , why VOCAL is so slow , people here dont comment and follow as they do on medium

  • nguyenquochoang12 months ago

    wow i like

  • HollyBerries12 months ago

    So well-written! Morty sounds like so much fun. Even if I'm a cat lover, I have room in my heart for dogs too and can totally relate.😄

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Love this!!! Congratulations on T. S. too!!!!💖💖💕

  • Heather Lunsford12 months ago

    I moved to Washington when I was 17 because it was the coolest place I had ever been. I have since moved away. Thank you for sharing your pictures. We loved this place in the springtime. Have you been to Snoqualmie Falls yet?

  • Lynn Anderson 12 months ago

    I can't wait to see where else Morty goes!

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story Kayla!! (even if Morty helped a little! 😁)

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Morty is a doll! Thank you for sharing this well written piece and Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Holy cow thank you guys! I literally took a break from writing I am beyond excited you all love this so much! Thank you thank you!

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Congrats, Kayla!!

  • Beautiful photos

  • Amazing 😉❤️💯🎉Congratulations on your Top Story❗

  • Ahamed Thousif12 months ago

    Wow Wow Wow...... Wonderful Story!

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Beautiful photos Kayla, and Morty is adorable (and knows it!) 🐶😊

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Wow!! I’ve never been anywhere like that but it looks amazing! Morty seems pretty amazing too ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.