Wander logo

TOP 10 Broke Girl Adventures

Summer Edition

By bxtchmandzPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

Let’s be real, summer is approaching with quickness, okay, okay. Some of us (me AF) are awful at saving money. So here it is summer—almost—and I’m kicking myself in the ass because I wasn’t strict on my saving plans. Now I don’t have nearly as much as planned to have an epic summer. I know I’m not the only one with this problem, so I figured I’d post my Summer Broke Girl Bucket List—trust me, it’s worth the read, even if you’re not broke and want to have a lit but cheap summer. Read my shit, that’s all I’m trying to say—just kidding, but seriously, don’t spend and WASTE your money just to have a good time. A good time doesn’t always have to break the bank, bro.

1. Take a trip to the boardwalk.

There’s nothing like the beach breeze, I swear. You’ll get exercise, a nice little tan tan, see new places, meet new people. Take some friends, surround yourself with positivity!

2. Slumber Party/Game Night

Invite your favorite people, friends, and family. Have everyone bring their favorite dish and drinks. Plan ahead so everyone can come. Ask each person to bring their all time favorite movie and put all the titles in a hat, pick a couple to have playing in the background of all the festivities. Or play everyone’s favorite throwback hits and today’s hits.

3. Take a walk downtown.

It’s amazing how many little things you never notice about where you live until you take the time to walk and enjoy its fresh air.

4. POOL MF DAY

I cannot say this enough, there is absolutely no greater feeling than jumping in a pool on a hot ass summer's day, okay, okay. It feels SOOOOO good.

5. Find your local nature trails.

In my hometown, all of our nature trails surround our ponds. It’s so relaxing and beautiful to go out there and walk. I usually go by myself to get some quiet time to reflect or plan.

6. Hop in the car, roll the windows down, and drive.

Grab your friends, some drinks and snacks, find some questionnaires on Pinterest, turn up the throwback jams, and get even closer to your closest friends. It’s a great time and a great way to find out more about each other and even yourself.

7. Two Words: Water. War

Let me tell you something. Target, Walmart, and even DOLLAR TREE has everything you need for a full blown Water War, okay, FOR THE LOW. It just depends how low you want to go, honey. By far my favorite thing to do in the summer. And if you have siblings? Call it a done deal. When I still lived with my parents, the days we brought the water guns out are some of the greatest memories of my childhood.

8. DOGS LOVE SUMMER TOO, GUYS.

We have to let the pups in on this action. We can’t just hog all the good times to ourselves! Grab a tennis ball, grab the pups, and spend some time at a dog park. My local dog park has a kiddie pool out in the summer for the dogs and they absolutely adore it, and it’s so entertaining to watch them have so much fun with a cheap little pool. Honestly, if your local dog park doesn’t have one, get one! The dogs and community will love you for it, I promise!

9. WAKE YOUR INNER CHILD UP. It’s arcade time.

Dive into your couch, clean out your car and purse, get all the quarters you possibly can. Grab your bitches, and it’s on! It’s so much fun when there’s a few competitive people in the bunch (just saying).

10. Positive Vibe Picnic

Friends... Family... We are gathered here today... TO GRUB TF OUT (and I guess if you want to talk to me while I stuff my face, that’s fine too). Blanket, basket, fruit, veggie, and meat trays. It’s a damn vibe, y’all.

This summer save as much money as you can. I discovered the hard way (we’ll say for research purposes) that you cannot be a Broke Boss Babe. It’s either Boss Babe. Or Broke. BUT you can choose! I know, crazy, right?

activities
Like

About the Creator

bxtchmandz

almost 23, aspiring cosmetologist and blogger, still trying to get my shit together but it’s getting there so i guess that’s cool :-)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.