Wander logo

Tips for Solo Travel Vloggers

Tips for Travelling Alone

By AlgiebaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I've always loved traveling and even before I started vlogging I loved to organize my trips and plan ahead in order to be able to enjoy my trip and avoid any problems that might arise. Whoever has traveled, knows that there are some essential things that need to be done before any trip. Getting to know the region that you are going to visit is essential, and reading about it is something that I do first. Whenever I decide to travel somewhere, I gather some information concerning the region, the people, the language, weather, the currency and the possibilities to exchange money locally, the local food, and the main tourist attractions.

As a vlogger I naturally need the camera and my phone. I always take extra memory cards, because they are not heavy, I keep them in a small plastic box in my pocket all the time, and they can be easily replaced whenever the current memory card is full. Because I had problems in the past with my battery, I have bought a charger that I connect to the camera, when the battery is low.

Because I sometimes travel for a longer period of time and I don't always have a place to charge my phone, I also take a paper map, just to make sure I don't get lost in case my phone battery is dead.

For extra safety, before I go on a trip, I always inform a friend or a relative about my itinerary and I always stay in touch via phone, text or email.

A very important aspect to take into consideration is knowing beforehand what means of transport to use in order to get from the airport to the hotel, to avoid being scammed by taxi drivers, as it usually happens in many countries. Another thing to consider is the money. I always check the possibilities I have to find a money exchange office or a bank so that I can get the money I need on my trip.

Any important documents, the ID card, and extra money should be kept in a theft-resistant purse, because you can easily get robbed, especially in crowded places. A money belt is not very safe and it can easily draw attention to it. If you want to be safe, you should always walk confidently. If you need to ask for directions, you can always enter a shop and ask for directions there, because it is advisable to avoid asking strangers. Avoid traveling at night, but if you do, stick to public places where there are lots of people. It can be useful to have a copy of your emergency contacts and your documents on you, in case something unpredicted happens. If you want to save money, you can buy an unlocked cell phone, so that you can buy a SIM card in the country you are visiting.

As a vlogger I learn the itinerary by heart so that I don't waste time getting to my targets. I already know a few things about each thing I want to visit, so that I can offer the necessary details when I get there.

Leaving the valuables at home is advisable because you can't always be attentive when you travel, simply because you see so many new things at the new places you visit, and that might focus your attention away from your valuables. Packing light will also help you have more mobility. Backpacks are the most comfortable since your hands are free and you can hold your phone or camera. If you have only one small backpack and you are in a crowded area, you can carry it in front, not on your back to avoid theft. Connecting with other travelers will make your trip safer and help you get excellent tips for traveling alone.

solo travel
Like

About the Creator

Algieba

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.