Wander logo

Three Reasons Why Going to a Summer Camp Can Literally Change Your Life

No seriously, it changed mine and can change yours or your child's life as well.

By Kristina SlottkePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Pictured: Nine-year-old me walking to my cabin on the first day of my third year at camp!

I want to start off by saying I'm completely biased to the camp I've been attending since I was seven, but I'm sure that all camps have a great experience, and are special in their own way.

When I was seven years old I was informed by my mother that I would be attending summer camp. My brother had just passed away and she thought it would be a good way to get it off of my mind.

Let me tell you, Pokémon playing, only-chlorinated-pool-swimming Kristina was not thrilled about spending a week in the wilderness. Especially about having to swim... (insert dramatic music) in a lake!

When I first arrived at camp (not as thrilled as the above picture) there were a lot of parents taking pictures with their chunky digital cameras (it was 2004), parents making sure they remembered every little thing their child needed for a week at camp down to the bug spray, and a lot of kids reassuring their parents that they will be fine. Then there's me... when my counselor asked me to introduce myself I said these exact words: "I'm Kristina and I don't wanna be here." Within the following 24 hours, I realized that I never wanted to leave.

So here we are, the three reasons why going to a summer camp can literally change your life:

1. You'll meet some of the best people you'll ever meet.

I met some of my closest friends at camp and I'm still friends with most of them today. Even people who didn't go to camp as a child and start as a Junior Counselor or Counselor, I'm so grateful to change the lives of campers alongside the best.

2. You get a chance to unplug from the outside world.

This goes for campers and counselors alike: you're in the middle of the woods, you don't need your phone. Most camps have a phone and a nurse, and a lot of camps require CPR and First Aid certification for staff. Getting away from all the ringing and dings my phone brings is a relief. Sure, for the first day or so I get annoyed because I can't snap an overfiltered picture of my food with my Bitmoji dancing in the background... but you know, I bet that girl from my 11th grade english class who I never actually talk to won't really care if that's on my story or not.

"But I want to take pictures so I can have memories of my camp experience!" Bring a disposable camera and a journal.

"But there's a flashlight on my phone!" You know they still sell actual flashlights, right?

"But what if I get bored?" If you get bored at camp then odds are, you're doing something wrong.

3. You get to see and be in some of the most beautiful parts of nature every single day.

It may not be a five-star resort or even a two-star motel, but jumping in the lake after a morning of archery is a refreshing feeling you can only get at camp. Yes, there are a lot of bugs; yes there's poison ivy; and yes, the lake is dark and probably full of fish poop. But who cares? We have showers for a reason!

Sometimes I'll go on runs or walks really early in the morning before my campers wake up, and being able to see the trees that have been there since I was a child and taking in the early morning sunshine before it's hot outside is an awesome feeling.

When going into this article I thought that I would be able to form a long list of reasons as to why it's the best way to spend a summer (or even just a week), but I feel that these three reasons justify it perfectly.

So grab your bug spray, swimsuit, and a sleeping bag. Bring your favorite stuffed animal and make sure you bring some extra clothes. Slap on some sunscreen and kiss your iPhone goodbye, you're about to spend a week (or however long) at the greatest place on earth.

humanity

About the Creator

Kristina Slottke

camp counselor, future educator, and history lover.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kristina SlottkeWritten by Kristina Slottke

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.