Wander logo

Three Peaks of the UK - Top Tips

Adventuring advice and tales from my times spent up mountains with my favourite human

By Laura McCannPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Three Peaks of the UK - Top Tips
Photo by Pavel Pešek on Unsplash

He's the man that was there when I took my first steps, and still teases me over the fact I took my time trying to walk, watching the other kids fail before getting it right myself in very few goes. He's watched me walk across the stage at two graduations, and one day he'll walk me down the aisle.

Of all the walks I've ever done with my dad, my three favourites have absolutely been our hikes up the three peaks of the UK.

When my dad hit his mid-fifties he said he wanted to climb the three peaks of the UK - Snowdon in Wales, Scafell Pike in England and Ben Nevis in Scotland - by the time he was 60. As his birthday falls around August Bank Holiday every year, we committed to using that weekend to make it happen for him!

Snowdon

By Ryan Booth on Unsplash

The first one we did was Snowdon. I'd done it before with friends so knew what it was like. We took the most gentle of the paths, which starts in the nearby village. In fact, the initial walk up the tarmac path to hit the natural path of the mountain is actually the steepest most painful part of the whole walk!

The views are quite immediately impressive. As city kids, the space you get from the countryside, the landscape you're not at all used to and the expanse of green instead of dark greys is just wonderful. Even though the day itself wasn't the sunniest of weather, there was a brightness about the surroundings. The clarity of the countryside never fails to amaze me, I find it so peaceful. The easiest way to do something whilst doing nothing is climb a mountain.

Doing things like this with my dad is great, because we can talk about absolute nonsense or enjoy peaceful silence, which is exactly what you need for such adventures.

The walk up Snowdon is relatively steady, and only really starts to push you once you get near the top. There's a section of flat rock that dips in on itself with a crevice down the middle. I have no idea how I've made it up and down there, the surfaces seem far too smooth for any grip to be had.

The weather also completely changes there. Our grey, but not too dramatic day, turned blustery and rainy. Walking up the steps to the sundial of achievement at the very peak is a such a challenge! It can feel like you'll be blown straight down the mountain side.

Thankfully, we weren't and made it down safely - after a detour via a sheep field that we were luckily rescued from by a lovely and non-judgemental local. Slightly tired and sore, but nothing a chippy dinner on the way home and a long bath couldn't fix.

Scafell Pike

By Jacob Smith on Unsplash

A year later, we tackled Scafell Pike. This was a mountain and area completely new to both of us.

The drive to the car park at the start point is windingly beautiful, in a way only the Lake District can be. It is truly over hill and under dale, but as it was my dad driving, I found I could quite easily enjoy it and not panic.

To reach the summit of Scafell Pike, you actually climb through a bit of a range so you never really see your goal until you're almost upon it. The way the path climbs and rises can be quite confusing to your bearings. One significant landmark is the crossing of a stream. Both times I have climbed Scafell Pike I have been with people who are longer-legged than myself, and they both got across dryer, with less dramatics.

There's a particular spot as the climb really starts that you can look back on and see for miles. The rolling hills of neighbouring ranges and the expansive Wast Water. I remarked to my dad as we stopped here for lunch that landscapes such as that make the fact they filmed 'Lord of the Rings' in New Zealand all the more frustrating. Yes I know Peter Jackson is a Kiwi, but it's so far away and I want to visit Mordor regularly!

Driving home was a particular adventure in which we could have done with some eagles. We end up on a route completely different to the one we'd come in on, so steep and winding it took hours longer than it was supposed to and the car very much struggled. Definitely get comfortable with your routes on a map before you go!

Ben Nevis

By fish plate on Unsplash

The day before his 60th birthday, dad and I tackled Ben Nevis. It's the tallest of all three of the peaks.

Due to being an 8 hour drive from Liverpool, this was the only peak we did not travel to, climb and travel from in a single day. I drove us up the day before, one of the most incredible scenaries I've ever driven through met us along the way. Simply stunning.

The weather was the best I have ever seen it in Scotland. Honestly. I think all of the sun that country can have in a decade gets squished into three random days, and those were it. I came back with the weirdest tan lines and over 100 midgie bites!

Most of the route we took was large rocks built into steps, up and up and up and up and up. There's a certain stamina required for such a drudging and unforgiving style of climb. The crowds also made the walk feel slow as there was a bit of waiting around at tight corners.

The weather actually created the greatest impossibility of the walk. We had absolutely no idea when we were nearing the top as we kept thinking the weather would change like it had done close to the other summits. The fact that it didn't was highly confusing. However, it made for the most incredible sites from the top. There were sheer drops that made my stomach twist in on itself.

At the summit, there is a shelter with room for around two to sleep in, for those who hike in weather's that might demand a night at the top. Other than that, as with most summits, there's a rock with a sun dial and that's about it.

Top Tips

  • Always take more food and water than you think you'll need - it's ok to run out, but it can be really problematic to be hungry or thirsty when without
  • In that vein, prep yourself with layers so you can take them on and off as necessary as your temperature will fluctuate massively throughout the hike
  • Take a map
  • Be sensible about how much you want to do in one day. If it feels too much for you to drive and hike in one day, don't do it! Most mountains have camping facilities and other accommodation nearby their route starting points
  • Take something to capture the views with - your camera, or a pen and notepad as one of my very talented friends does. Honestly, taking in the moment and being present is wonderful, but having photos to share with those not with you is lovely
  • Don't pressurise yourself too much over timings. There's no need to run up these things - though very impressive and fair play if you do!
  • Ask those who've been previously for any of their specific hints and tips

Climbing mountains is absolutely one of my favourite days out so being able to do that with my favourite person means a lot to me. Just like the metaphorical mountains life demands to be travelled, I get to do it all with my Pops and I couldn't be more grateful.

family travel
Like

About the Creator

Laura McCann

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.