Wander logo

The Year That Changed Me

Australia 2018-2019

By CLPublished 4 years ago 2 min read

As a soul that craves adventure and exploration, it was a no-brainer that I’d find myself living in a different country at least once in my lifetime. I just never would have guessed it would be somewhere so far from home. Just 3 days before my 23rd birthday, my Australian working holiday visa arrived in the mail. “Well... I guess I’m going,” was the first thought to cross my mind.

Flash forward to 8 months later... I’m finishing my last shift at work, returning the bouncy castle I rented for the last hurrah to say my goodbyes to family and friends, and packing as many bikinis as I can into 2 suitcases. It hadn’t set in yet that I’ll be away for an entire year, maybe more? Or that I’ll be living on an actual beach. Like the real ocean. On my doorstep. For an ocean lover that was born and raised smack in the middle of Canada, it was a dream.

Upon arrival I felt like a child on Christmas Day. The country is absolutely beautiful. I found out that if I went to a new beach every day, it would take 27 years to see them all. Wow. I found an apartment with 2 roommates and we had our very own backyard beach. There were gelato shops on every corner, and I rarely ever had to wear shoes. I really couldn’t ask for more.

I spent my year driving, hiking, snorkeling, sailing and flying around the majority of the breathtaking country. I met people from different cities, different countries and even some from places that were less than an hour from my hometown. I realized just how big, yet how small the world really is.

Throughout the year, I took the time to pay attention. To be aware. To soak everything in. This was a huge dream of mine and I was living it. I regularly asked myself if it was everything I expected, if I was getting what I needed out of it, if I was grateful for the experience. The answers were always yes, yes and yes. It was more than I expected. I was learning and growing in ways I didn’t even realize I could or needed to. And I was nearly always drooling over a gorgeous view or stunned that this was my real life.

For anyone that’s been wondering, no I didn’t meet a kanga farmer, fall hopelessly in love and become a permanent Aussie. I’m now back on Canadian soil, studying speech therapy and hanging out with my new baby kitty, Louie. BUT... I do cherish my year abroad and miss it dearly. Not only did I get to feed my adventure-hungry soul for an entire year, I got to actually take the time out I really needed to see myself, learn about myself and prepare for the rest of my life. Whatever the hell that may be.

Long story short, for anyone who is thinking about taking a leap, doing something “crazy” or needs a change... go with your gut. It doesn’t have to be something as large scale as moving across the globe. Just do what you love and don’t worry so much about the what-ifs or opinions of others.

Aus, I’ll be back to visit one day. Promise.

australia

About the Creator

CL

Hey guys, I’m a grad student that loves to spend any free time adventuring. Big and small, global and local. Documenting my experiences and memories has become a hobby of mine during the pandemic because... let’s be real, I can’t bake.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CLWritten by CL

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.