Wander logo

The "Spirit Keeper"

My Dream Home

By Kathleen ThompsonPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2
The look and feel of the house & property

LOCATION

Before I describe my future home in detail, I want to take you to a place where soul and imagination live; the site where I will build my future home.

If you have ever visited this area – expect your heart to be stolen by its majestic beauty. You will come back often because it’s the place where your heart wants you to stay. Case in point, I have come to this area for vacations since I was a little girl – and now I would like to retire there. My retirement home will be a place to inspire my soul and let my imagination soar, so I will give my future home the name “Spirit Keeper.”

Where is this place you ask? First, turn your right hand so the palm is facing you. It will be in the shape of a mitten which is the shape of the state of Michigan. On a map, the top of your pinky finger represents an area called Sleeping Bear Dunes. Sleeping Bear Dunes gets its name from a Chippewa legend that tells the story of a mother bear and her two cubs who, fleeing a fire in the woods of Wisconsin on the other side of Lake Michigan, plunged into the lake and began swimming to find safe haven.

The state of Michigan is called the “Great Lake State” for the 5 lakes that neighbor its borders. On the western side of the state Lake Michigan resides in all her awe-inspiring beauty. It is a powerful body of water, one that calls for respect whether you are riding the waves in a sailboat or just wading near the water’s edge. When I walk the shores of Lake Michigan, I am visually overwhelmed by the expanse of the shoreline. I’m entranced by the way I feel as I encounter the feel of sand beneath my feet while looking for sea glass or Petoskey stones. The sound of the waves is so very calming and if you crack your window open at night before bed, that gentle rhythm will lull you to sleep as well. Nature lives large on this northern Michigan lake shore – I love breathing in the scent of northern pine, seeing deer or their tracks in the woods or the flights of Sandhill Cranes or hawks. It is my favorite lake for all the fond memories I hold of vacations past. To give you some visuals of the landscape and seascape near Sleeping Bear Dunes, please enjoy the short video that highlights the area. The video features the music of Brant Satala whose song is about Sleeping Bear Dunes, with accompanying location photos by Kristine Carpenter.

THE BUILD (materials)

Having described the location in the aforementioned paragraphs, let me now build my house for you the reader… first in words, then perhaps literally with Cedar, Walnut, Stone, and Copper. I love the scent of Cedar and the scent of it helps to keep insects away, not to mention that the wood of these trees is also resistant to decay. I’d like to use the stones I have gathered from my beach journeys to frame the outside of the front door. Copper will grace the roof along with some solar panels to make the house more energy efficient and honor Mother Earth. I would also like to add a windmill wind turbine generator kit that can be used in conjunction with the solar panels. I will employ some recycled windows in the build, including some stained-glass ones that reflect the beauty of nature like the image of a feather or a bird in flight. The floors inside will be natural white oak.

Natural White Oak flooring

Stained glass windows

ARCHITECTURE STYLE, INTERIORS, COLORS

The lot will be chosen with the idea that the design will be nature driven. Since this is a lake lot, there will be many windows and much light. I’d like a bit of an Asian style roof to help with snow in the winter. There will be viewing spots built into the structure from many rooms, including a room that jets out from the main frame meant for stargazing and watching the tides. This particular viewing area may have a lighthouse feel or maybe created as a separate guest house that could also serve as an artist studio. I will incorporate many design ideas and employ an architect to implement them into one or two beautiful structured designs; potentially physically connected or not. I want to make sure there will be enough space to move freely inside without feeling confined, and yet confined enough to feel snug. I own a wonderful light of a wandering fisherman sea captain finding his way (see pic) – this would be a perfect addition to one of these viewing room/spaces. The beautiful trees that surround the property will also be brought into the inside design such as the tree barn-door pictured. Built in bookshelves will be abound in the space. This house is intended for contemplation and where imagination can take flight… I will love being in this space as much as my walks on the beach because I will have brought nature inside to be with me. The walls will be painted in deep blues and greens – again, all landscape sponsored colors meant to soothe and nurture one’s soul. The bathrooms will be large and peaceful, suitable for relaxing baths or showers. My friend Nancy Davis does beautiful animal drawings which will grace the walls along with the work of my friend photographer, Carl Sams who does amazing wildlife photography. I will work on a quilt made from a photo of a feather (an archival cyanotype process) I took many years ago. I will add that quilt to the soft, over 500 thread-count sheets on the King size bed I will have in the main bedroom that faces the water. Comfortable furniture including a favorite chair and a half, and a soft couch will be my go-to for reading the many books that have been waiting for me. An audience chair from Harpo Studios (Oprah’s old studio in Chicago) will hold a special place when I am contemplating a new dream or planning something grand. I will position the “Oprah” chair looking out to the water where I will sit and manifest new ideas and opportunities. While Lake Michigan will be right outside my back door, I would also like to build a labyrinth to walk for those days I have questions to contemplate – I believe walking a labyrinth with its twists and turns creates new neuropathways in our brains, hence, promotes critical thinking skills and better health. Next to the labyrinth will be a small summer garden for growing herbs like cilantro, basil, dill and mint...but especially for growing summer tomatoes.

Inside colors

Potential design elements of the house or guest house

A light for this lake property

Photo by Carl Sams

Cyanotype by Kathleen Thompson

Wolf Painting by Nancy Davis

Nature reflected in all rooms

Viewing room at the guest house - dunes outside

Reading relaxing room

the breakfast nook

Simple earthy kitchen

Main Bedroom with view

A chair to manifest dreams

Light, beautiful color, books, comfort, reading

Comfy living TV room

Natural light, sea colored tiles & wood in the bathroom
A comfy chair for reading
More built in bookshelves

Another light-filled bathroom

labyrinth

I have dreamed about this house and this property and have been creating it in my mind as my vision board for a long time. Hoping that it will be time to build it sooner than later. It will be a space that not only holds my heart and brings me peace, but also honors the earth and brings peace and calm to all those that visit.

nature
2

About the Creator

Kathleen Thompson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.