Wander logo

The Amazing, Juicy, Succulent, Brightly-colored, Aromatic Fruits of Costa Rica!

Their flavors will dance on your tongue. .

By William "Skip" LichtPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
So many wonderful fruits in Costa Rica. . you may not be able to pronounce their names, but you'll surely delight in their flavors. .

Coming from Florida, I am used to the many varieties of fruits that are grown in a tropical setting. Strawberries so big and luscious. . navel oranges so full of juice that you need close to a dozen napkins at the ready! Avocados ripened to perfection. . Mangos so flavorful that you'll use them in your preparation of breakfast, lunch AND dinner. We love our fruit in Florida! Well, MOVE OVER Florida. . you ain't got nuthin' on Costa Rica!

Way back in 2002, November 2nd I believe it was, after settling into my hotel room in downtown San Jose, I had the entire day ahead of me. I didn't know any Spanish whatsoever. . I had never been to Costa Rica and I sure didn't know what to expect on my first morning walk in paradise. After passing many fruit carts and those selling pipa fria, I came across the Mercado Central. As you all probably know, this market has been a centerpiece for commerce in San Jose since 1880. It occupies an entire block just west of the National Theatre. Every corner of the market has its own entrance and one could literally get lost in the bowels of this historical gem. The market is lined with merchants selling everything from spices & herbs to hats and blankets. . from meats & cheeses to coffee & locally-made chocolate. Everything one needs for living a good life can be purchased within the boundaries of the Mercado Central. It is just like a Walmart! It has everything!

I walked through the narrow aisles with eyes so wide. It was a long time since I had been in a foreign country, soaking up new aromas, a new language and all that it had to offer to me that first morning. I turned the corner and I was amazed to see rows and rows of carts and tables overflowing with fruits that I never knew existed. Of course, I laid quick claim to the free samples that they were giving out. . a juicy mango, I remember. . they offered no napkins so I had to wipe my overly-juiced-up cheeks on my shirt collar! No problem there! I went back for another slice. . this time I grabbed a pineapple chunk! Well, it was love at first sight. . me and my fruity, juicy friends have carried on a loving relationship for over 18 years now! And it will never stop. .

I bought so much fruit that morning, I had to return to my hotel room IN A TAXI! I couldn't walk back. . had so many bags to carry. And, with the biggest watermelon that I had ever seen in my life balancing on my left shoulder, I remember needing all the help I could get!

Keep in mind that I had to point to each item when I was ready to buy it. I knew no Spanish at all at the time. But, the lady was used to gringos pointing and she gave me a quick lesson in 'fruitology'. She taught me what the name of each fruit was. My Spanish is excellent now, but to be honest with you, I still have a hard time pronouncing the names of much of the fruit that I eat every day. With names like pejibaye, guanábana, jocote, guaba, maracuya, nispero, pitaya, carambola, carao, noni. . and dozens more, it's very hard to memorize those fruits. The good news is that they taste as good as they are hard to pronounce! I just refer to them as 'the green one', 'the yellow one' and the 'funny shaped' one and with the 'noni' fruit, the 'smelly one'. . it's simpler that way.

I have a few friends who have some acreage close to Dominical, way up in the mountains. Their families have been there for about 7 years now. They have areas on their property that they have set aside to plant many fruit trees. They have a pineapple patch and a watermelon patch as well. Because most all of the fruits are ripening at different times of the year, they always have something at the ready to make a very healthy and flavorful smoothie. One of my friends has created main dishes utilizing many of the fruits as well. He's into the 'fusion' method of preparing food and anytime one can use fresh fruit in a meal, it's a win-win for all sitting at the table!

I want to take a little time before I finish to warn you. . when you visit Costa Rica and find a local market and see all of these fruits for sale, it's very important not to just purchase them, but also to write down what they are. The reason that this is so important is because way back on November 2nd, 2002. . when I finally got back to my hotel room with all of that fruit, some of which I had never seen before, I didn't know where to start in preparing some of them to enjoy. There should be instructions on some of these sweet tidbits on how to peel, how to section them and what parts are edible! I remember going down to the front desk that evening with a carao in my hand. The gentleman explained to me in his broken English that this fruit needs to be heated. Then it turns into a molasses-like syrup. It is used to top ice cream or other deserts. And the darn thing was over 2 feet long! That's a lot of syrup! So sweet, too!

One more piece of advice. The noni is a beautiful fruit. the plant is over six feet tall and grows wild here in Costa Rica. The 'problem' is that it does not smell OR taste like a fruit. It's reeks of a strong cheese. It is indeed an acquired taste. . be warned! With that said, I'm used to it now. .

You're all in for a treat. If you need a reason to visit Costa Rica, come for the fruit!

You're invited to visit our websites at www.costaricagoodnewsreport.com & www.costaricaimmigrationandmovingexperts.com

Also, please enjoy our over 1,700 episodes of our "Costa Rica Pura Vida Lifestyle Podcast Series". We are found on all major podcast venues, including iHeartRADIO, Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Radio FM, Anchor and many more. Here's our link: www.anchor.fm/costa-rica-pura-vida

culture
Like

About the Creator

William "Skip" Licht

Costa Rica is a magical place. Since November, 2002, when I first visited this country, I have been in love with the people, the culture, its biodiversity, the food. . everything about it makes me happy! Now I share my excitement with you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.