Wander logo

Thailand travel notes

Faith is an oasis in the heart

By NaiyapakPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

In Chiang Mai, faith blooms like parrot flowers

Driving upprices and all people doing business is a very likely development trend in other county town which is developed entirely by tourism. However, in this small town in northern Thailand with more than 300 temples, the beliefs of Chiang Mai people are not only worshipping and chanting in temples, but also the desire to do good is permeated in daily life. I have also met some hawkers who charge high prices. But what I have encountered more are the beautiful hearts like the blooming parrot flowers here.

I remember the small platform on the mountain that I passed by on the way to Shuanglong Temple. The first aid medicines, women's products, tissues, and travel maps that are provided free of charge are clearly placed there. I didn't see any tourists who took them away because they were provided for free. The stall is also the same price as the foot of the mountain, and it does not charge customers more because it is an attraction.

Passing by an unknown small temple in the ancient city, religious activities are being held in the temple. I just went in and visited, although the Thai aunt and I do not understand the language, but warmly invited me to eat a free vegetarian lunch.

Borrowing a small motorcycle with my colleagues to ride up Suthep Mountain, the store does not accept passports and deposits (normally, they require a deposit or passport), just asked: When will you return?

Go to a small shop that rents traditional Thai costumes to rent Thai costumes for one day. They didn't ask any deposit. When you return it the next day, the clerk does not check the records, just ask: When did you borrow it? You say and she believes it.

Once I stayed in a B&B. There was a restaurant opened by a wealthy generation near the B&B. The owner cooked only out of interest. I wanted to experience it one day, but it was closed. And there was no notice on the door, nor was there any special instructions on FB. The hostess of the homestay told us that Chiang Mai people are like this. They are never in a hurry. No matter how good the restaurant is, they will be closed for at least one day a week. They will not disrupt their lives to make money.

Having a cup of coffee at Ristr8to, the champion of latte art, the interesting thing is not the coffee but the Russian girls chatting with me. She is the same age as me, but unlike other foreigners of the same age, she looks very young. The strange scene is that a foreigner is preaching to a Chinese. She told me that she was working in a meditation institute near Chiang Mai. I asked her why she came here. She said that she had been to India many times. She felt the shock of Buddhist culture. She followed a master to Chiang Mai. And finally became one of the staff of this institution from an ordinary believer. I said, as a foreigner, why do you believe in Buddhism? Asian god? She said, because I have felt it from the bottom of my heart. I feel the transformation of the whole person, from the inside out, the Buddha is not just a legend.

The hot spring at the hot spring rest station on the way to Chiang Rai is really suspected to be used for Kanto cooking, the temperature is surprisingly high. I stepped down without testing the temperature and immediately screamed and screamed. The whole foot was instantly red like a scalded pig's trotter. After a while, it was numb and a little sore. I was worried about being burned. The sink here cannot be used to wash my feet. I had to buy a bottle of ice water and go to the side to rinse and cool down. The owner of the water stall saw that I bought water for this purpose, and immediately asked me what was wrong in simple English. I told him that it was hot spring, and I would buy another bottle of ice water to rinse it. He said that he didn't know that you bought water for this purpose, so don't waste your money. He went to the store to get a small basin, let me fill it with some tap water to rinse, and then brought me paper and grass paste.

The Chinese people I met in Chiang Mai told me that the security here is so good that there is no need to lock the motorcycles on the side of the road. Everyone does not compare who is rich. Compared with this, where is the new cafe and new market are more interesting things for them. It is the domestic compatriots who are more likely to deceive people there. Although the road has always been chaotic and complicated by cars, vehicles and pedestrians. Cars and pedestrians are seldom red-faced because of their courtesy to each other.

The day I took my family from Chiang Mai to Chiang Rai, I found a tour guide. He was a Chiang Mai boy whose ancestors moved from Yunnan. The Chiang Mai boy married a Hunan girl and settled down in Chiang Mai. Before marriage, he had a girlfriend in Shanghai. He said that he used to have a good relationship. My aunt asked why they broke up. He said lightly that her family did not agree. Aunt asked you have met his parents? He said that he was not allowed to meet because they heard that he was from Thailand. A few aunts nodded to show their understanding. The aunt said something, maybe if you are from the United States and they may agree. He smiled and said nothing. The guy took pictures, chatted and took good care of the elderly along the way. His charter time is 9 hours. Because the old people want to eat in the city and go to the local people's market to buy fruit after dinner, the charter time exceeds a few hours without realizing it. When I got off the bus, I was very embarrassed and asked how much more to pay. He waved his hand, and said that I never charged overtime.

Rather than commenting on other people's behavior, I actually prefer to purely describe their behavior. Because you will see a lot of things that cannot be expressed in words and the values ​​of many different people, but behind it is a more complex growth environment and social environment.

Chiang Mai is a place that will make you feel that you are too corrupted by the material world. Realize that you are too philistine, as if something is broken.

Naturally, a lot of people are good is not mean that everyone is good. Chiang Mai also has some not-so-good customs. For example, I heard that there are some local men who are greedy and lazy, even pimp their wives and just drink and play themselves. In the past two years, there have been unprecedented shopping mall killings, all of which originated from interpersonal disputes. The wounding weapons are related to the legal possession of guns in Chiang Mai. Of course, there are good people and bad people everywhere. There is no need to beautify them too much, but there is no need to avoid them. They are both sides of normal society.

travel tips
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.