Wander logo

Surviving my Coldest Day in New York City

How I spent my coldest winter in New York

By Pearl MPublished 10 months ago 5 min read
Like
Surviving my Coldest Day in New York City
Photo by Redd F on Unsplash

In my mind, I thought I was ready. I thought I had adequately prepared for the weather. I prefer not to travel in winter because I live where the lowest temperature is 20 degrees Celsius (68 degrees Fahrenheit). Due to my extensive preparation, I decided I would take a chance just this once.

I searched for what one wears in New City in winter; I went to Pinterest and looked at all the winter weather NYC outfit ideas. I bought two winter jackets, thermal (or base wear) and tons and tons of socks. I could not find gloves as it was summer at home. We barely have gloves in winter, let alone in summer. 

For my trip to New York, I wear my base wear, ripped jeans, socks, sneakers, a top, a beanie and a jacket. I thought I would be able to manage. The base wear has long tights and a long-sleeved top.

Off I went. 

I landed in New York at 7 am. At the airport everything was going well - so far, so good!

I walked out of the airport. My first thought was that I had lost my mind. My goodness! It was madness! I checked my phone; the temperature was -8 degrees Celsius (-46.4 degrees Fahrenheit). I realised that I needed gloves and maybe a jersey as well. Possibly another layer of clothes or five.

When I got to the hotel, I checked in and asked where I could get gloves, and they directed me to a place. I went to my hotel room and got a sweater and a scarf. Figuring I was ready, I walked out.

The first 100 meters (0,06 miles) were okay. It was cold, but I could do this! I continued walking. When I had walked 300 meters(0,186 miles), I realised I could not do this. It was not working out!

I was cold to the bone, the wind was too much, and I could barely feel my legs. 

I thought about returning to the hotel but realised it would not solve my problem. I would be temporarily warm but have the same problem the next day. So I looked for a coffee shop to get a warm drink and clear my head.

My salvation was at hand because up ahead - my saving grace, McDonald! I walked in, ordered a hot chocolate, and sat down. I needed some time to rethink everything.

A TV in front of me with the news airing, “Cold winter up ahead”. Just my luck! I needed to make better decisions about my life.

My head cleared, and I felt marginally better as I had thawed. My hot drink has helped immensely. I decided to get a proper jacket, warmer clothes and gloves.

When I made it to the store, I started my shopping. I picked up my selected items, but they didn’t have gloves. The salesperson told me they were out but directed me to a place where I could get some gloves.

While standing in the queue to pay, a lady behind me started a conversation. We were talking about how terrible the weather was. She told me her mother-in-law was buying socks as gloves because she could not manage the cold, and they could not find gloves. I directed her to the place the guy showed me. We mused about the terrible timing of our trips to New York due to the horrible weather.

After I paid, I went to the bathroom and changed. I put on my warmer items and felt slightly better. I then walked to the place with the gloves and asked for warm gloves. The gloves were great; I was impressed with them. They were perfect!

I realised I was around the corner from the 911 Memorial. So I walked towards it. The paper bag that carried my items ripped in half, and my clothes fell to the floor. Figures! My day was not as bad as it could get. Obviously!

So I carried the package like a baby and continued. I mean, the 911 Memorial is in sight now, not to mention I am marginally warmer.

I got to the 911 Memorial and realised I was cold and would not fully appreciate this moment.

There was something faulty with these jeans! I could not understand it. I saw pictures of people wearing jeans, but mine were ice-cold!

Had I been duped? Was it a marketing gimmick? How is it that some people were warm in jeans? While I felt like my legs were being sawed-off with each step I took? I probably should not have worn ripped jeans; it allowed easy access to the sawing process. Or do they have a different kind of jeans? I need to know, as mine did not make the cut. I might have been getting a tad bit delirious.

I returned to the hotel, took a hot shower and put on layers and layers of clothes - I looked like an Eskimo- sans jeans! I was a lot warmer.

I put on my gloves and walked back to the 911 Memorial. This time I made it with no issues. I even managed to go to the Museum and the One World Observatory on the same day.

Jeans were retired for the rest of that week - until my last day in NYC. I was going home, and the temperatures had somewhat improved to positive numbers. It got to 8 degrees Celcius (46.4 degrees Fahrenheit. Hooray!

My first day in New York City might not have been what I expected, but it was unforgettable.

I got home; the temperature was 30 degrees Celsius ( 86 degrees Fahrenheit). Suffice it to say I got a cold, but it was worth it.

I had a fabulous time in NYC after I figured out the whole clothing and keeping warm thing.

Whether or not I will choose to visit in winter again is still up for debate.

It is still bothering me how some people can wear jeans in that weather. Somebody. Anybody. Please let me know how this is possible.

travel listsfemale travelbudget travelamerica
Like

About the Creator

Pearl M

I love to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.