Wander logo

Sunrise over the South Pacific Ocean

What a feeling of warmth.

By Charmaine van der MerwePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image taken by Charmaine Van Der Merwe - Coogee Beach Sydney Australia

When I saw this challenge to show an outdoor shot there was only one photo I could think of that I felt totally inspired to share. I mean look at it, does this not just warm your soul.

This photo was taken in July 2019 a few days after we had landed in Sydney Australia.

Our year of change, new beginnings, and exciting times. We landed on the 2nd July 2019 and I can still remember walking through the small quiet airport thinking how it was not at all like what we were used to back in Johannesburg. The friendly staff guiding us through every step of the way making us feel so welcome.

As we stepped out of the airport the fresh air hit my face, and I felt like I was breathing for the first time. The air was so fresh and clean. It was wonderful and I was so excited to be starting this new chapter in our lives.

We made our way to the taxi services and headed to our first destination, a self-catering hotel located on the waterfront. We had no idea what we were in for as we hadn’t booked the hotel ourselves and found it hard to contain our eagerness to see it.

Image by Charmaine Van Der Merwe - Coogee

We arrived late in the evening and made our way up to our room. The apartment was absolutely perfect for us. The kids ran around taking in their new environment and I can remember how their faces lit up as they absorbed everything that they came across no matter how small or insignificant.

The setting was very homely, and it helped us to settle in and relax for the evening.

When we woke in the morning we finally got to see the setting for the first chapter of our new lives. An ocean-view to die for and time to adventure into the new unknown territory.

Image by Charmaine Van Der Merwe - Coogee Beach

Where were we?

We were at Coogee, a beautiful coastal suburb, this would be home until we found a place to live. Staying at the Coogee view apartments was a great experience and we got to enjoy the beach life before moving to an area closer to work and schools and further away from the ocean.

I took this photo one cold, cloudy yet sunny morning. Standing at the bus stop waiting for a bus, I remember feeling this warmth building up over the back of my body as I stood on the windy sidewalk. I turned around and there it was, the most magnificent sunrise that I had ever seen.

Why did I choose to take this photo?

I wanted to remember this sunrise for the rest of my life and instantly reached into my bag fumbling around for my mobile and took a photo. I am in no way a professional photographer and it may not be the greatest image but to me, it speaks 1000 words and reaches deep into my core.

I loved the way the sun appeared to be bursting through the clouds and trees, the beams of warm rays gleaming brightly over the calm South Pacific Ocean.

What memories does it hold?

Each time I look at this photo I am reminded of our first days in Sydney. Spending time on the beach with the kids during the mornings while the sun was shining and the beach was still warm. Making sandcastles and feeling the sea sand between our toes. Finally having some quality time with my little ones that they had been yearning for since they heard we were moving.

Image by Charmaine Van Der Merwe - Logan and Raven on Coogee Beach

Waking up in the morning to the sound of the sea as it ebbed and flowed on the sand, clearing the footprints left by early morning joggers and their beautiful dogs having a morning jog on the beach. Mothers taking their babies out in their strollers and getting a little exercise before the day begins. The laughter of friends meeting up at a local coffee shop across the road for a quick morning catch up.

It reminds me of why we had relocated and of the bright future we have ahead of us.

I am so pleased that I took this image when I did, as a huge reminder during the times that we have faced in 2020 of what we have to look forward to once things are back to normal, whatever that new normal will be.

We are blessed in so many ways to have been able to experience this amazing time in our lives before everything went so horribly wrong.

I hope that everyone reading this has some memory of a time in their lives that they can look back on and remember, a time to help get through these tough and emotional times. Life has been turned upside down at the moment but we need to remember that there is a light at the end of the tunnel and we will get there again. It will shine as bright as this sunrise on the South Pacific Ocean.

Be positive and keep believing.

You Not Alone

Resources:

All images are my own taken on a Samsung Galaxy Note 9 no edits or filters used.

australia
Like

About the Creator

Charmaine van der Merwe

I am a mother of 4, and soon to be a grandmother. Family is very important to me. I love sharing my life experiences with everyone, its a way for me to express myself.

I don't have a specific niche' and write about whatever is on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.