Wander logo

Snow in England

December 2017 and March 2018

By Bethany RollinsonPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Colchester, England

Well.

After all this hot weather, I felt it would be very apt to write my article on the snow we had at the start of the year.

This year has definitely been a year of extremes for me in terms of weather I've experienced. Halfway through December last year, in the South of England, we had very heavy snow that disrupted most services for a couple of days.

Maldon Promenade December 2017

For those who do not know what our weather is usually like: we do often get a tiny bit of snow once a year, but this year the snow was very heavy and fell very fast for us. It was incredibly beautiful and I had the opportunity to take some beautiful photos!

Maldon Promenade December 2017

As I said previously, the snow fell very fast and there was a lot of it. Our roads and our services are not built to cope with extreme weather as it is not something we normally have. The buses could not go from A to B, because the roads had not been gritted quick enough for the snow not to coat the roads. Therefore I was stranded in Maldon for an extra night! (Not so bad really!) I did, however, stand at the bus stop in the freezing snow, for hours hoping a bus would turn up before realizing it was hopeless and heading back home! I stood there wearing my wellies with two pairs of socks on, four layers of jackets, two layers of trousers, and I honestly do not believe I have ever been so cold before in my entire life.

A couple of months later, we had even more snow. For the South of England, this is very, very rare. I thought it was so amazing, much to the dismay of many other people! Luckily, this time, I did not have anything major planned so I was able to walk to and from work and really be able to enjoy the weather.

Loving the snow March 2018

This time when the snow fell...

We were still not prepared and once again services were stopped and nothing could cope! I absolutely love the snow, as this photo shows you! I would take the longer route to walk to work so I could experience the snow more! I worked in a toy shop in the town center at the time, and sled sales went through the roof. It was phenomenal and every shop was out of stock within a couple of days, some even within a couple of hours! In the local park, there is a very steep and big hill, so this provided the perfect opportunity for people to enjoy family time with their sleds! (If they got one!)

Colchester Castle, March 2018

I would definitely recommend everyone to go for a walk and an adventure when there is such beautiful weather. It is so worth exploring and seeing, and experiencing such incredible moments.

If you've got any great snow photos, I'd love to see them!

europe
Like

About the Creator

Bethany Rollinson

I love life.

Fitness fanatic.

History buff.

Avid reader.

Behaviour therapist.

Cat Mum.

I love travelling the world, and exploring new places.

I love watching TV, and seeing how other people live.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.