Wander logo

Single Mothers Cruise, Too!

Royal Caribbean: Enchantment of the Seas

By Edkesha AndersonPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Me and My Mini Me

This past weekend I enjoyed some coveted mother/son time, as my son turned 10 years old. He has finally hit the double digits! What better way to celebrate this milestone than with his first cruise.

His First Sailing

Enchantment of the Sea

Prepping for his first sailing was nerve wrecking at first. I kept asking myself if I had all the right paperwork, if I booked the right excursions, was I spending too much money, did I time our departure from Augusta, GA right, did I pack the right kind of clothes, did I pick the right destination at the right time of year? These questions and more ran through my brain, so many times leading up to our departure. I would soon find out!

I had great plans for our adventure! Dinner reserved in one of the premier dinner locations—Chop's Grille, a snorkeling excursion, a glass-bottom boat tour around Coco Cay, and an All-Access Tour of the Ship. This was sure to be a trip that he would remember!

Accommodations

My Mini, His First Time in a Ship Cabin

There were only two of us, so I opted for an interior cabin with king bed/twin bed convertible. For a smaller sized cabin, the room was spacious enough, for the two of us. The bed took up most of the space, with two side tables. There is a lighted desk and television on a swivel. The television is positioned just right for lounging in bed all day, if you don't want to leave your room. There is an arm chair that is much too big for the space, and it prevented the closet door from closing, and the bathroom door from opening completely. In my opinion, it was unnecessary. The closet space leaves a bit to be desired. Luckily, we were only on the cruise for four days, and didn't need the closet space. The bathroom is quite small, a bit smaller than I anticipated. The shower only had a shower head which was a bit awkward to maneuver. We sprayed water around the room a couple times; shhh, don't tell anyone.

Next time you take a cruise don't worry... leave them at home.... and enjoy the beautiful sights that nature created! Happy Cruising Mommies! For more traveling momma stories: find me on Facebook at TravelingwithKey.

family travel
Like

About the Creator

Edkesha Anderson

A public admin doctoral student that freelances by night. Writing has always been a part of my life but I've only recently started to take it seriously. I write grants, research, and poetry. Hopefully, I will also add travel to the list.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.