Wander logo

Secret Shopper Reviews: K&B Home Etc and Cafe is Milton's #1 Boutique, Comic Shop, Record Store & Place to Grab a Sandwich or Coffee

How Can One Store Offer So Much?

By Emerald Coast's BestPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Find K&B in downtown Milton @ 5198 Willing Street

One of my favorite type of assignments I get here for Emerald Coast's Best is our Secret Shopper Reviews. It's the ultimate test for a business, not knowing there is anybody there secretly judging them. Although, in the age of internet reviews, I guess you could argue that everybody has the potential to be doing that. When I was told to check out K&B Home Etc and Cafe recently, I wasn't sure what to think. They are a newer business and I don't get the pleasure of traveling to Milton often so I hadn't heard of them before. After a bit of asking around, and as you can see below, I got some incredibly different answers.

"I go there to buy records. They got a ridiculous amount of stuff." "My brother goes there to pick up vintage Hot Wheels." "Best sandwiches in Milton, hand's down." "They've got some really old comics on my wishlist." "Try the clam chowder." "I've found some really killer outfits there."

A shot from K&B Boutique

Now, I could see maybe two of these statements going together, but when you put them all into one location, it almost sounds more like a shopping mall than a simple shop. When I arrived at K&B Home Etc and Cafe the other day, which is located in downtown Milton, with the Blackwater River greeting you right out back, I found out it pretty much is a mini shopping mall. I found antiques, clothes, great gifts for my kids, and plenty of vinyls for those who are reluctant to join the present by just streaming all their music. Walking in, to the left of me there was 2nd Fold Men's Upscale Vintage Clothing and Shoes, a place I'm certain could keep my husband dressed single-handedly. While, to my right, was K&B Records, which was an easy place to lose some time in, browsing their massive collection of new and old vinyls.

I then wandered upstairs and found K&B Cafe. The smell got me a bit hungry, so I ordered up one of their Cubans. As someone from South Florida, I find a good Cuban sandwich one of the more difficult to make. If the pork isn't cooked just right, the sandwich basically fails its Cuban status, as far as I'm concerned. Forgive my language, but all it took was one bite for me to be more than pretty dang impressed. A massive, meaty affair, I decided to tuck away half of it for later and ordered myself some soup, which was brought out really quickly, despite the fact that I was a jerk and ordered more food after already having received my sandwich. The soup was just as tasty as the sandwich, and the clam chowder was definitely a perfect companion to my sandwich worthy of being called a Cuban.

One of their amazing specials.

Grabbing a bottle of Mexican Coke (the best type of Coke), I decided to browse through their boutique, where I found a few items I ended up buying (and having people ask me where I bought!). There was a good mix of dresses, skirts, tops, pants, shoes, purses plus plenty of accessories and jewelry you can't find anywhere else in town. I made my way downstairs in the back and then found myself in Be Brazzled, a really cool motorcycle clothing and accessories shop full of leather jackets, helmets and all sorts of various items for bikes and bikers alike. Leaving there through a separate set of stairs led me to K&B Comics, where I had to nab a few toys for my kids, and a few old Archie comics for myself (I like what I like, so sue me!).

K&B Comics inside K&B Home Etc and Cafe

All in all, K&B Home Etc and Cafe is the type of original, family business I wish there was more of throughout Northwest Florida. I know it sounds bad, but I kept expecting to be disappointed at some point during my trip. They just offer so much, it's hard to believe it can all be so awesome. I don't know how they do it, but it is all so awesome. It must be the love they put into their business. I highly recommend checking it out the next time you're in Milton, and if you live in the Milton/Pace area, the next time you're needing a good cup of joe or a tasty lunch, you know where to go.

You can visit their website HERE, like them on Facebook HERE and follow them on Instagram HERE.

review

About the Creator

Emerald Coast's Best

At Emerald Coast's Best, we love FL's Emerald Coast! We love its beaches, its parks, its restaurants, boutiques and more! We love nearly everything about Northwest Florida, so follow us and see what awesome Florida stuff we highlight next!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Emerald Coast's BestWritten by Emerald Coast's Best

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.