Wander logo

Rain

Desert Spirit

By Chandler CaglePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Desert Spirit

I can still hear my parents, "Rain follows that child everywhere." and my girlfriend in Dallas in midsummer "I swear every time you come to visit me the bottom falls out! You still haven't been to my pool!" My boyfriend has been calling me Little Miss Rain Cloud on every vacation we've taken over the last 6 years. I moved to Salt Lake City in late January of this year as a travel RN and I have heard recently that this has been one of the wettest years on record. Surprise, surprise. Now, do I actually believe that I, a 35 year old woman have some magic following me that can actually affect the climate around me? No. Not Really. Do I wish that I was a weather goddess or a super mutant that has the ability to shape the winds and weather around her? Yes. Absolutely. I would proudly bear the nickname Storm. If I had the ability to choose I would likely keep my rain clouds. Just don't tell my family and friends that. Upon moving to Utah I have coveted my plans to visit the state parks to hike and climb. I grew up in the woods and have self proclaimed nature blood. I lived for the chances to be outside. I grew up with horses and dogs and cats and the occasional parrot. I have however spent the last 10 years of my nursing career in Chicago IL. I began climbing in Chicago about 4 years ago and have always wanted the chance to learn to climb outside on the real stuff. It's a beautiful city on a magnificent Great lake but you really have to travel pretty far from the city to even come close to real-nature. If I have the chance to be outside that is where you will find me.

My plans to visit state parks and hiking trails and outdoor climbing spots were abruptly put on hold as COVID-19 restrictions were put in place. I was put on assignment here in the city on an Interventional Radiology procedural unit that was extremely short staffed. Turned out that my only other full time RN coworker was infected with COVID-19 and was promptly isolated at home for 18 days. I worked alone on my unit with the help of a part time staff member and kept it going pretty much by myself for that full 18 days. That includes 24 hour emergency call as well. I quarantined myself from my sister who lives here for fear of accidentally infecting her. I started feeling as if Salt Lake City wasn't meant for me. Helping patient's is my life's passion but being isolated from family and nature and unable see this gorgeous state had me feeling like I might move on after this travel assignment contract was up.

Saturday June 6th was my first trip ever to Moab Utah. The COVID-19 state and national park restrictions were lifted. I had been planning this trip for a few weeks with a new climbing friend I had made at work. He lives in a van and is a modern day Tarzan, an avid climber. We picked a dry and beautiful weekend to go down to Moab state park. About 1 hour into our 4 hour drive to the park we encountered none other than a massive thunderstorm. He who grew up here said that he's never seen such a huge rain/thunderstorm in the desert ever. He kept saying "This is crazy, this is insane. I've never seen anything like this." He and his family have frequented this desert their entire lives. I will say this again, rain tends to follow me everywhere I go, ask my friends and family. We couldn't see a thing driving up to Canyon lands and lightening was popping all around. Of course I am apologizing and explaining that this is all my fault but honestly I absolutely love the rain. It's magic. As we passed a few buttes I could see waterfalls. I counted 9 of them pouring off one of the huge mesas. We pulled up to the first lookout at Canyon lands and as the rain had ceased the big sky opened up. It peeled open in blue. As I spotted her I gasped. The sight of this giant desert spirit in the bones of an old dead Methuselah tree, black and wet from the recent rain, moved me. She was solid ebony, morbidly black. She felt feminine in my nature blood. We stared at each other. New desert spirit to old desert spirit. She thanked me for the rain and flew away.

Dream captured by my Samsung Galaxy S20. No filter.

female travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.