Wander logo

Post-COVID-19: The World Is My Oyster Again

Traveling through sacred places to find hope

By Nikoleta MoralesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Post-COVID-19: The World Is My Oyster Again
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

When you have been in quarantine as long as we have, the world becomes small and confined. The thirst to travel and see people again becomes a distant dream you want to be in.

Before COVID-19 struck and quarantine became a way of life, I traveled almost every month. I have been traveling around the world since 15! I am a nomad, my soul thrives on travels and adventures. But that privilege was taken away...for now. As I look through my window, like a little kid ready to go play again, I see my future bright and clear.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

After COVID-19, I will travel again. But for now I take a trip to a different place - a place where we rarely get to travel that is within us. I am able to explore inner parts of myself, learning about my passions, my inner wisdom, self and values as I explore my mind, spirit and soul through meditation, soul summits, journaling and contemplation. I enjoy the journey and I am almost seeing the shore, the light at the end of the tunnel in the depths of my subconsciousness, mind and soul. I am ready for you world!

By Darius Bashar on Unsplash

I am ready to travel outside again. I dream of traveling to Nepal and Tibet - the two most sacred and spiritual places on Earth. I always wanted to go there. I envision myself hiking the Himalayas and conquering that unknown for me part of the world. I see the beautiful mountain, I smell the fresh air and I am full of light, hope and optimism. I jump out of joy as I plan my daily hikes, visits to spiritual sacred places and meeting enlightened gurus.

By Toobs Ng on Unsplash

What is next you ask? Next stop - India. I am going on a live meditation retreat in India. I am on my way to the Taj Mahal ready to explore. I am thinking of the amazing trinkets and jewelry I am going to buy and the elephant rides I am going to take. I feel like a queen, the queen of enlightenment and joy, carried away by the most scared animal in India- the elephant. I enjoy my ride as I look away in the distance and remember what I have accomplished.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I feel amazing! I had just traveled to three unique spiritual places - Nepal, Tibet and India. I feel enlightened and happy, ready for my next adventure. I think I am ready for love! I have been in quarantine for so long that I have forgotten what romantic love feels like - dining, taking walks, watching Netflix, kissing, romance, and you get the rest. I picture us in Hawaii, holding hands in the sunset ready to explore us.

By Ani Kolleshi on Unsplash

I feel complete. I had just met the love of my life and traveled to my dream destinations. I am ready to explore more. I am going to travel to historic Native American reserves and meet local Native Americans. I am going to learn all about their daily lives, history and culture. I want to emerge myself in that ancient culture I always wanted to learn more about and maybe smoke the peace pipe with them! I think I could even be the next Pocahontas, if they let me pretend for a day...

By Andrew James on Unsplash

Wow, so much travel and culture under my belt! I almost forgot my 9-year-old daughter is waiting for me home. I must return back to Chicago and share with her all the beautiful things I learned about my adventures, trips, cultures and love. We are going to sit down and share a warm cup of hot chocolate talking about all that I have seen, the people I have met and the new love I found. She listens to me excited with eyes wide open and smiles as she sips on her hot cocoa. I feel complete post COVID-19...I almost forgot I am still living in quarantine. The world is a different place then...happy and peaceful! See you soon world! Bon Voyage!

By Jon Flobrant on Unsplash

female travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.