Wander logo

Petit Livre Noir

The Adventure Within You

By Ricky R Monroe IIPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
2

Modern Day Rome

(Local News Reporting),

"The winning numbers are 7,14,23,19, and 4". Reporter Says. "Oh My God, Oh My God, that's me, that's me!" "I just won 20,000 Euros; oh we up, I'm about to be on!" Jay passionately says. Clears Thorat. "You want to be rich forever?" Asks the Old Man." Jay looks. "I just won the lotto, as far as I'm concerned, we're already rich forever!" Jay Says. "Have you ever heard of The Book of Unity?" The old man Asks. "The Book of Unity, sounds like fiction to me." Jay says. "Old Man Grunts. "Fiction, oh it's the thing that brings fantasy to a standstill!" " It ultimately holds power that shift's the tide between those of power and wealth and those without; I mean, it can..." "Alright, alright, don't have a stroke, old man; what's your name anyway?" Jay interrupts and says. "Roberto." "Ok, Roberto, I just hit the lotto I'll buy the book; where is it?" Jay Asks. "It's in Vatican City!" Roberto Says. " "How much is it?" Jay asks. "The Worth is priceless; it can't be measured by money." Roberto says. Jay Smirks. "Let's say I'm a collector, and you had to sell it; how much would it be?" Jay Asks. "Like...I...Said it's" Jay Interrupts. "Ahhh Ahh Ah, I need a Price!" Old Man Exhales. "Anywhere between Thirty And Forty!" Roberto Says. Jay Chokes. "30 to 40 what?" Jay Asks. "Million!" Roberto says. "Count me in, I'll see you bright and early; we can meet here in the morning!" Jay Says.

The Next Morning.

Knock Knock Knock. "Old Man, it's me open up; I'm ready to get this money!" Jay says. " I'm coming; I'm coming!" Roberto yells. Roberto Opens Door. "...Yea, you do look ready." Roberto says. "Of course, I'm ready; you like my gear?" "I brought it yesterday, you know amazon prime!" Jay Says. "Yea, You look great, let me grab my wallet; and we can go." Roberto says. "Yea, speaking of go, you never said how we're getting there." Jay Says. "Right, we're going to go from here, Milan to Genoa, and meet my friend." "He'll take us the rest of the way on his boat!" Roberto Says. Jay pumps his fist. "A boat, yes, I love boats!" Jay says. Car Engine Remotely Starts. "Come on lets go." Roberto says.

Car Door slams. " Nice Car, what's this a G65?" Jay Asks. "It was a present." Roberto says. "That's nice. I wish I had friends like that." Jay says. "Keep living, and you will." Roberto says. "I don't know about you, but I stayed up all night spending this money a million ways, and I'm beat." Jay says. "Get some rest, we'll be there soon." Roberto says. Jay dozes Off.

Two Hours Later. Gas Pump Clinks against Car. "Are we there?" Jay Asks. "Not yet I had to stop and get gas." Roberto says. Jay leans out the window. "So, this book of Unity?" Jay asks. "What about it?" Roberto asks. "What color is it?" Jay Asks. "It's Black." Roberto Says. "Ok, ok, what's really in the Book, yesterday you said something about power and wealth?" Jay asks. Gas Pump Clicks. Roberto gets in. "So the Book dates back to 1,997BC in the city of Vatican City, Rome, a time where balance amongst all scales were leveled, and heaven was on earth." Roberto says.

"It was said that kings and queens even gods read and looked to this book for answers about wars and riches." "Even Greats such as Van Gogh, Picasso, Ernest Hemingway, and Bruce Chatwin, some say their success goes hand and hand with the book." Roberto Says. "What happened to the book?" Jay Asks. "The Roman Army destroyed it!" Roberto says. "Destroyed it?" "I thought we were going to get the Book!" Jay Says. "We are; let me finish!" Roberto Says. "Back in those days, there were four Knights, and each Knight took a section of the book and hid them in the city, and I know where they are!" Roberto says. "If you've known about the book, why wait until now to try and find it?" Jay Asks. Roberto stares, puzzled. "I just found the last piece of the puzzle, we're here!" Roberto Says. Car Pulls into Port.

Genoa

"If it isn't the man himself!" Marco Says. "Marco!" Roberto Shouts. The Friends Hug. Roberto says, "Long time no see, what's it's been Ten...Fifteen..." Marco Interrupts "Twenty Five Years, what brings you this way?" Marco asks. "We're on the hunt for the black book, so we can get paid, you in?" Jay Says. "Just like old times huh?" Marco asks Roberto. "Yes sir!" Roberto Says. "Im in!" Marco says.

Piombino

"Another Port Tax old man?" Jay Asks. "Just think of it as an investment, fifteen to twenty thousand euros for a book that'll change your life!" Roberto says. "Don't worry, kid; I'll make sure he sells everything he owns to get you your money back otherwise!" Marco says with laughter. "Alright, come on, let's get Gio; you want to get back ASAP, Right?" Roberto Asks. "Yea, let's Go!" Jay says. All Exit the Deck. "Does he know we're coming?" Marco Asks. "Nope, But he's about to find out!" Roberto Says. "Who is this Gio Cat anyway?" Jay Asks. "Gio is my brother." Roberto says. Knock Knock Knock. "Alright, be cool and let me do the talking!" Roberto says. Door Opens. "Roberto!" Gio Says. "Come here, boy!" Brothers Hug. "You know Marco, and this is my friend Jay." Roberto Says. "Nice to meet you, Jay, come on, come on, let's go inside!" Gio says. " "Marco Man, what's... it been thirty years since the last time I've seen you." Gio says. " Yup, your old man's seventy-eighth birthday." Marco says. "Man, it's been a while!" Gio Says. Roberto clears his throat.

"I need your help Gio; we can finally do it; we can finish what dad couldn't!" Roberto says. Gio Smirks. "The Book!" Gio Says. "Yes, the Book the only thing that's hanging over our family, just there staring, haunting day and night." Roberto says. "You saw what that Book did to dad, now that's haunting; him walking through the house all night rambling, wracking his brain; that's what you want to become?" Gio asks. "Look at all the good the book can do." "For all of those having the esteemed pleasure to read the book, let alone own it!" "I found the sanctuary; it's been right under our feet this whole time; it's all in dad's notes, and with my new research, I'm telling you; wealth, travel, power, Aiuto!" Roberto says. "Aiuto?" " Dad always wanted peace for his people." Gio says. "This is the last one, I promise." Roberto Says. "Question?" Jay says. "Can somebody please tell me the real plan because I'm tired of being strung along using all my money on port tax; where is the book, and how are we going to get it?." Jay asks. "We'll tell you when we get there." Gio Says. "Let's go!" Roberto Says.

Ligurian Sea

Distant Dialogue between Roberto and Gio. "What do you think they're talking about?" Jay asks. "I don't know, probably going over old maps and bouncing theories." Marco Answers. "Marco, man to man, I've spent every penny of this 20,000 lotto I won, and I have no idea what I've gotten myself into." Jay says. "Look, Kid, I know how it feels." "I've been strung along looking for this Book for years, I've spent countless amounts of time, not to mention money." "Those guys over there they keep me going, because those guys have faced more."

"Have you heard the phrase Abbi Fede?" Marco asks. "Yes, I've heard it." Jay answers. "Good, cause Abbi Fede doesn't mean you only have faith based off what you believe but what others around you believe." "Like when you're a kid, and you're afraid of the dark and the monsters under your bed." "Your parents know there are no monsters under your bed, but they still check and make provisions for you; based on what you believe." "That's what we have to do; even if we feel there is no Book, we still have to check under the bed becuase that's what friends do." Marco Says. "Besides, if we don't find the Book, look around, kid!" "You're on a private Yacht drinking wine and eating ardebs gliding on the coast of Italy; enjoy your time." Marco says. "We're Here!" Roberto Shouts. "Ok, Here's The Plan." Gio says.

The Plan

"We're going to go to St.Peters Basilica, and under the Tower is a secret passage that'll take us down to the Door Of Portals." "Gio and I will go in, grab the book and get out!" Roberto says. "Sooo... What am I going to do?" Jay asks. "You're going to stay in the van, kid." Gio Says. "I'm not staying in no car being on lookout after all the bread I spent." "Come on, man, let me in!" Jay Says. "He is strong." Marco Adds. "Alright, we'll go at dawn." Gio says. "Yes!" Jay says.

5.00 AM

"This way!" Roberto says. "Just...Got..To...Push...This...Got it." Roberto says. Door opens. "Come on; boys were almost there." Roberto says. "Yo, this is cool look at all these hieroglyphics." Jay says." Keep moving; we're almost at the portal." Roberto says. Angelic music plays. "Wow, look at all the diamonds on it; The Door of Portals!" Jay says. "Yup!" Men speak in amazement. "Ok, where is the key?" Gio asks. "I got it." Roberto says. "Why do you need two people to open the Door?" Jay asks. "You need the same bloodline because gods have the same lineage, good or evil, and two people because the door is large." "So now we insert the key and..." Roberto says. Men push. Dramatic Music. "If it isn't the Sons of Reale...looking for this?" Villian Says. Waves Book. Villan fires shot. Men dash behind Pillars. "Ok, look, it's one of him and four of us!" Roberto says. "Who in the heck is that?" Jay Asks. "It's Antonio; he's been after the Book as long as we have!" Roberto says. Shot fired. "Get down!" Marco Says. "I'm over these games with you boys; just walk away; it's over." Antonio says. "This man is crazy, all of this for a book?" Jay Glances at Book. "And it's little; I can't believe all of this for a little black book!" Jay says. Antonio fires shot. "Hey, I have a gun; I'm going to get that book!" Roberto says. "On the count of three, I'm going to shoot, and ya'll run back toward the portal, and I'll handle it from there, ready?" Men say."Ready"

"Ok, One...Two...Three." Roberto says. Pow Pow. Roberto Shoots Towards Antonio. "Hand over the Book Antonio; it doesn't have to end like this!" Roberto yells. "Oh, it's not ending; it's just getting started!" Antonio Says. Fires Shot. "The Book is mine, Antonio; you blew your chance when you killed my father!" Roberto says. Roberto Fires Shot. Antonio Laughs. "Your father was weak, always wanted peace, always thinking there was a better way, well guess what ain't ain't no better way!" Antonio says. Empties Clip. Roberto Shoots Antonio. (Pow) "My dad was never weak!" Roberto says. He walks upon Antonio. "You were just a snake, and once I'm done cutting the grass, you can tell him I said Hi!" Roberto says. "Wait, wait, ok i'll give you the book!" Antonio says Cunningly. Antonio Sparks lighter. "Back up, I'll light this book up, and nobody will ever have it!" Antonio says. "Drop the Book, and I'll let you live." Roberto says. Antonio Drops Book. Antonio Flees. "This isn't over!" Antonio yells as he Flees. Jay runs in. "Hey...what about Antonio?" Jay asks. "It's ok, let him go; I'll see him again." Roberto says. Jay and Roberto Stare At The Book. "Wow, more Precious than I thought!" Jay says. Roberto Opens The First Page.

The Book Of Unity

The End.

Extended Verison 03/09/2021

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Ricky R Monroe II

SuperStar Producer/Songwritter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.