Wander logo

Over the Sea to Scotland

How planning a solo trip abroad is getting me through the pandemic

By Kristi JacobsenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
Over the Sea to Scotland
Photo by Bjorn Snelders on Unsplash

Traveling abroad is an experience, unlike any other. It changes you as you experience different cultures, meet new people, and open your mind to new ways of thinking. Similarly, solo travel is a life-shifting experience. With no one else to rely on, you gain new perspectives, courage, and grow by facing challenges alone.

I took my first solo trip in 2012. It was just to California, but it kickstarted my love for solo travel. Several years later, I traveled abroad for the first time. I toured Europe with a friend but had the opportunity to spend some time alone, giving me a taste of solo travel abroad. I navigated German and Danish airports, learned langauges and customs, and - stranded in London - figured out a way home on my own. It prompted me to step up and take charge of my situation and life.

Last fall, I started planning my first entirely solo trip overseas. I knew my destination, Scotland, and researched everything from places to stay to activities, historical locations, and even the best flight and train itineraries. I had it nearly planned out and only needed to request vacation from work and book my tickets.

Then, the COVID-19 pandemic gripped the world, and I put all travel plans on hold indefinitely. Crushed, I resorted to rewatches of Outlander and reading up on Scottish history.

Why Scotland?

As part English (we believe), Great Britain's history and culture fascinate me. While I learned English history in school, I never knew much about Scotland. That changed when I started to read and watch Outlander, and I fell more in love with the idea of visiting the country.

I pictured myself hiking Munros, riding horses across the Highlands, and wandering the streets of Edinburgh. I longed for time in a cozy cottage, drinking coffee and writing in a local coffee shop, and browsing an off the beaten path bookstore.

I'm looking for something different from my everyday California sunshine. I can't think of a better place to begin a digital nomad journey than spending time in this stunning country.

I want to make memories

In early 2019, I found an online travel company designed for 30 and 40 something solo travelers. Every day I browsed the site, determined to find the perfect adventure, until one day, I stumbled upon their four-day Highland experience. It had everything from whisky tasting to sleeping in a castle, and I was ready to purchase it right away. That is until I found the week-long horseback riding trek through the Highlands.

Oh, the decisions!

I considered one over the other and then thought - why not both? Each trip would create memories to last a lifetime. I would experience the wilderness, history, traditions, and adventure from the back of my favorite animal and with a group of other solo travelers.

Though those plans went on hold, I keep them in the back of my mind for my next trip after the pandemic. As a digital nomad, I will have extra time to spend in the country and explore all it offers.

Live like a local

Staying overnight in castles is cool and all, but with extra time, a business to run, and a dream of one day living in Scotland, I'll make my future trip an opportunity to live like a local.

First, I want to spend time in a few of the major cities - Edinburgh and Glasgow - and will find Airbnbs that cater to local living in each. I'll hunt down the best local vegetarian food, find places to do some whisky tasting, and enjoy local favorites.

I'm also a country girl and enjoy the outdoors, and through the travel program Workaway, I will have the opportunity to exchange work on a local farm for accommodations. A program like this will allow me to truly live like a local, meet new people, and understand Scottish customs and traditions.

Impact of solo travel in Scotland

As an introvert, I relish the chance to travel independently to recharge, reset, and find mental clarity. Decisions about locations to visit, what to eat, and when to go on my next tourist or local adventure are entirely on me. Traveling is a very personal experience, and groups can cause frustration, primarily when egos and opinions affect decisions.

Yet, solo travel has its downsides. You don't have a friend to share exciting events and memories with, and you endure struggles, delays, and hard times alone. There's no one to turn to when you're having a hard day or to help you get out of a sticky situation.

However, a solo trip will build character. It will encourage mental toughness, increased confidence, and the courage to grow as an individual. Traveling solo to Scotland will be the trip to change my outlook on life fundamentally.

Final thoughts

With COVID-19 vaccines around the corner, I have high hopes this trip can take place in the next year. And as a soon-to-be digital nomad, I'm eager to start this new chapter of my life in the number one country on my bucket list. I'm keen to change my perspective, to meet new people, and experience the Scottish lifestyle.

Scotland, I'm eagerly awaiting your adventure.

solo travel
4

About the Creator

Kristi Jacobsen

Podcast Manager. Entrepreneur. Writer. Digital Nomad.

Life and travel are the inspiration for my work and all that I do.

Podcast management and podcast launch consultation services:

www.brokenglassmediallc.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.