Wander logo

One Step

Looking for an Adventure

By Karen D'IngilloPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
One Step
Photo by Mithun Cp on Unsplash

Raise your hand if you like to feel comfortable. My hand is right up there with yours. In a matter of seconds, we have discovered a common bond with about 90% of the population. Yet, the things that make you feel comfortable and what makes me feel comfortable could be as different as day and night. I'll tell you what, I will cozy up in my rocking chair with my snuggly blanket and a warm cup of tea, and unpack this for you.

The vast majority of people who live and operate from their comfort zone feel safe. They like it that way. There is low risk, but also sometimes no reward. Many settle for mediocrity, the easy things in life and experience fear in a variety of ways that affect them on a daily basis. A common question surfaces when they consider stepping out of their comfort zone.

"What if I can't?"

Ah...the great "What if...?" I'm sure you could fill in your own blank on this one. I have countless times. "What if I fail?" "What if I get lost?" "What if I die?" "What if I just can't?"

Now, let's take a look at what lies outside of our comfort zone. Approximately 20% of the population supposedly operates from here on a daily basis. They live with passion, excitement and adrenaline rushes. These individuals are fearless, bold and purposeful. They are often on a journey of self-discovery while choosing to do things that are challenging and fulfilling. They have no regrets. Instead of asking "What if I can't?", they ask "What if I can?".

This is where I want to share a personal story with you...a story where I stepped out of my comfort zone, faced my fears and what that experience was like for me.

A few years ago, my husband and I had a fabulous romantic weekend getaway on Catalina Island. Little did I know at the beginning of that trip, that I would take a very big step out of my comfort zone and come face to face with some of my fears. I do not consider myself to be a good swimmer and I am afraid of heights. The thought of being very high off the ground sends chills and anxiety through my body. In spite of that, I gave in to my husband's urging to try something new. Next thing I know, we are on a boat with 11 strangers. We are strapped into a tandem harness and getting ready to parasail over the Pacific Ocean behind a speeding boat. The boat was speeding along, music blaring full volume. As we were released from the boat, we soared higher and higher, until we were 500 feet off the boat and 700 feet in the air. The first thing I noticed was that it was unbelievably quiet up there. We could only hear the wind and each other. The endless view was sensational. It was a perfect Southern California afternoon. We could see dolphins and fish in the water. Much to my surprise, I was not afraid. I could not stop smiling and laughing. It was only the two of us. The experience was truly breathtaking and exhilarating. Reflecting back on it, I could have missed out on this whole amazing experience if I had let me fears hold me back and chose to stay where I felt comfortable (on land).

On another note, I hate snakes. Stay with me, this is going somewhere. I like the air temperature to be just right. I don't like it too hot and I don't like it too cold. So, stepping out on this next adventure is not likely to happen for me. Not for anyone, in all honesty. Maybe there is someone from that 20% of the population who would want to try, but again, not likely. No one on the planet Earth has ever taken on this adventure with success. Never been done.

Let me introduce you to the longest walkable road in the world. It is the longest distance that a person can walk on land between two points. Did you know that such a thing exists? I did not know until recently and I find it pretty fascinating. This road begins at the southern-most tip of Africa near Cape Town and ends in Magadan, Russia. It covers over 14,000 miles and would take someone walking 8 hours a day over 3 years to complete. The longest walkable road covers 17 countries, crosses 6 time zones and has a 76.5 mile elevation change. This is comparable to about 14 trips up and down Mount Everest! The trek is extremely dangerous, which is probably why no one in human history has ever completed it. Some of those dangers are:

• deadly snakes (ugh) (there is one in particular that can even outrun you!)

• malaria (you walk through countries with the planet's highest rates of malaria)

• wild forest animals

• dangerous people (civil wars and the like)

• extreme temperatures (like -39* C and 47* C, which translates to -102.2* F and 116.6* F. I have felt 116* F in the Mojave Desert and it is not comfortable!)

• crossing the Sahara Desert where there is no road to follow (can Google Maps still get you there?)

• the final road in Russia is called the "Road of Bones", where the bodies of dead people are mixed into the materials used to build the road (ew).

Pretty amazing facts right there. I can only imagine the stamina, protection, out of comfort zone action that trip would take. I have a tendency to over pack for a weekend getaway, let alone a trip that would take 3 years to complete. If the walkable road was not so fraught with danger, I can imagine that there would be a number of people who might attempt it. Just like the adventure seekers who climb Mount Everest or take to the waves to surf in Pichilemu, Chile.

Lao Tzu once said, "The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step." I might take baby steps to stretch my comfort zone and broaden my adventures. My next goal is to zip line or snorkel. One step at a time. Even if the longest walkable road was a doable adventure, I will stay snuggled in my rocking chair with my snuggly blanket and cup of tea, content to watch videos about it on YouTube.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Karen D'Ingillo

"If you want to change the world, pick up your pen."

Martin Luther

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.