Wander logo

One Day

One of these days, when I finish up with college, I am going to visit every single country in the world.

By Arianna ReyesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
One Day
Photo by Brett Zeck on Unsplash

I'll start this off by letting you know, I love animals more than anything on this Earth, and my most ambitious goal is to eventually save an animal species. I recently got accepted into college for a Wildlife and Forestry Conservation degree. This will take a few years but once that is done, I plan on visiting every country available to me to see at least one of their Wildlife Preservation facilities. I know this will be a very expensive and hard feat, but I have never been more excited to plan something in my life. Whether this be a solo trip or a trip I take with my now fiancé is yet to be determined, but the trip will happen.

I have always been fascinated by animals and other cultures, when I was a kid I always wanted to be a veterinarian. It wasn't until I graduated high school that I knew that it was not exactly what I wanted to do. I was even accepted into my dream school for pre-veterinary medicine to attend right out of high school, but I never went. I was actually out of high school for a few years before I realized it. I was in the Dallas Zoo for my 21st birthday watching a presentation on a Zoo's impact on wildlife conservation. They were explaining how just by all of us being there we were helping and contributing to animal conservation and the education of the public about how we need to take action. They had trained one of their birds to take money from us and drop it in a box I was the oldest person in line to donate money for conservation. I am currently a United States resident and have been to quite a few of our zoos and and conservation buildings. They have always made me want to see more.

All countries have their own conservation techniques and processes and I intend to see every one of them. They also have so many different species of animals that I probably have never see before. One of my best friends now works at a rehabilitation center and just sent me a picture of an animal I have never even heard of. This only proves to me just how much more there is to learn, and I intend to learn as much as possible. This trip will help me do so.

I would start with Canada, going to Greenland after and make my way around going through Europe, then to Russia, since it is technically in both Europe and Asia, then on my way to Asia down through Africa, making a detour to Australia, then coming all the way around through South America and back home. With traveling also comes experiencing so many types of cultures. I feel I have never fully understood or experienced a lot of different culture, and would love to know more about the world around me. I would love to try new foods and listen to languages I don't even know exist, I have only ever really seen these things on the TV and they are typically exaggerated. How exciting would it be to see everything with my own two eyes.

I have years to save and plan, and I get more and more excited the more I think about it. I am already googling things like "How much does it cost to travel the world". I am sure it will get more concise and look like less of a mess the more I plan, I am just so excited to make this my lifestyle. I hope that everyone can experience the world and that we can all learn from it.

solo travel
2

About the Creator

Arianna Reyes

Just a little person trying to make it in a big world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.